Skip to main content

HIST 234: Introduction to Middle Eastern History (BMC)

HIST 234: Introduction of Middle Eastern History (Foda) Fall 2014

Historical Collections in Philadelphia

  • Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries
    The collections of PACSCL member libraries include a total of more than 4,000,000 rare books, 260,000 linear feet of manuscripts and archival materials, and 9,000,000 photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and works of art on paper. PACSCL member libraries hold rich collections of materials on national, regional, and local history; the natural and social sciences; world history, literature and religion; art and architecture; and business and industry.   For this project, the Presbyterian Historical Society will be especially useful since they hold large numbers of letters and reports from Presbyterian missionaries working in the Middle East in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
  • Tri-College Special Collections
    Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore all have extensive collections of primary sources on American and World History, with particular strengths in Women's History (Bryn Mawr), Quaker and early American History (Haverford and Swarthmore), and Peace (Swarthmore). This link leads to overviews of the collections and links to the individual departments' websites and collection finding aids.


University of Pennsylvania Library

The Penn Library’s Middle East Collection Page provides links to the extensive Africana resources at Penn.   Trico students may use the Penn Library, but may not check out books or use online resources. 

Bryn Mawr's Special Collections

Bryn Mawr has an extensive collection of printed travel accounts, memoirs, and other works on the Middle East from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries.   Overviews of our holdings and guides to particular collections can be found on the Special Collections web site

The book collections are included in Tripod.  It is possible to limit your search to just the Special Collections holdings by choosing “Bryn Mawr Special Collections” from the Tripod Classic menu box that normally reads “View Entire Collection.”

Hours: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday – Friday, open until 8:00 pm on Wednesdays.   An appointment is a good idea for your initial visit to talk about resources for your project.