Research Guides: ECON 225: Economic Development (BMC): Journal Articles

Some Recommended Journals

The easiest way to find articles is through citation search engines like Google Scholar or Tripod, but here are the names of a few of the top journals in Economic Development/Development Studies:

Comparative Politics An international journal that publishes scholarly articles devoted to the comparative analysis of political institutions and behavior. It was founded in 1968 to further the development of comparative political theory and the application of comparative theoretical analysis to the empirical investigation of political issues.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Development and Change
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Development Policy Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic Development and Cultural Change An economic journal publishing studies that use modern theoretical and empirical approaches to examine both the determinants and the effects of various dimensions of economic development and cultural change. EDCC’s focus is on empirical papers with analytic underpinnings, concentrating on micro-level evidence, that use appropriate data to test theoretical models and explore policy impacts related to a broad range of topics relevant to economic development.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Organization A leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs. Subject areas include: foreign policies, international relations, international and comparative political economy, security policies, environmental disputes and resolutions, European integration, alliance patterns and war, bargaining and conflict resolution, economic development and adjustment, and international capital movements.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Democracy An influential international forum for scholarly analysis and competing democratic viewpoints. Its articles have been widely reprinted in many languages. Focusing exclusively on democracy, the Journal monitors and analyzes democratic regimes and movements around the world. Each issue features a unique blend of scholarly analysis, reports from democratic activists, updates on news and elections, and reviews of important recent books.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Development Economics Publishes original research papers relating to all aspects of economic development - from immediate policy concerns to structural problems of underdevelopment. The emphasis is on quantitative or analytical work, which is novel and relevant. The Journal does not publish book reviews. We welcome papers that take up questions in development economics that are of interest to the general readers of the journal, and then use data from a particular country or region to answer them.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Development Studies The first and is one of the best known international journals in the area of development studies. Since its foundation in 1964, it has published many seminal articles on development and opened up new areas of debate.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Environment & Development Combines cutting edge academic research with practical analysis of working policies. The broad scope and interdisciplinary nature of The Journal of Environment & Development are demonstrated by the wide variety of interests and disciplines of its readers and contributors, which include political science, international relations, economics, development studies, sociology, environmental studies and law.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of International Development
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Studies in Comparative International Development An interdisciplinary journal that addresses political, social, economic, and environmental change in local, national, and international contexts. The journal has a tradition of presenting critical and innovative analytical perspectives that challenge prevailing orthodoxies. It publishes original research articles on all regions of the world and is open to all theoretical and methodological approaches. Major areas of investigation include political and state institutions, the effects of a changing international economy, political-economic models of growth and distribution, and the transformation of social structure and culture.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Third World Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Bank Economic Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Development A multi-disciplinary monthly journal of development studies that seeks to explore ways of improving standards of living, and the human condition generally, by examining potential solutions to problems such as: poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, inadequate scientific and technological resources, trade and payments imbalances, international debt, gender and ethnic discrimination, militarism and civil conflict, and lack of popular participation in economic and political life.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Politics World Politics, founded in 1948, is an internationally renowned quarterly journal of political science. Open to contributions by scholars, World Politics invites submission of research articles that make theoretical and empirical contributions to the literature, and review articles bearing on problems in international relations and comparative politics. The journal does not publish articles on current affairs, policy pieces, or narratives of a journalistic nature.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Region-Focused Journals

Journal of African Economies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of East Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Modern African Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latin American Research Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Scholarly Journal Article Databases

Tripod Articles
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Articles tab in Tripod searches journal and newspaper articles, book reviews and more, aggregated from many sources. Use the "Peer Reviewed" search limit to sift non-scholarly articles out of your search results.

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from any discipline.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers on Economic Development and other economics topics. Our subscription is through ProQuest, so it is possible to do a combined search of EconLit and other PQ collections.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that contains many top journals, including several in economic development and political economy.
ProQuest Social Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts & some full-text of articles from about 450 social sciences periodicals, including those in the field of economic development.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A journal database that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. It contains economic development articles that touch on environmental issues, sustainability and green technologies.