Research Guides: LATN 201: Advanced Latin Literature: Vergil (HC): Finding Criticism

Criticism in Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, recommended editions and translations, and links to useful websites. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. New articles are added twice a year to all the Oxford Bibliographies subject areas.
Examples from the Classics section include:
Augustus
Latin Poetry: Imperial
Roman Countryside
Roman Kingship
Virgil
Virgil in Renaissance Thought

Criticism in Journals

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of classical literature and history. Since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles.

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.

Gnomon Online
This online index is maintained by the venerable German journal Gnomon. It allows you to search by title word, author, and journal name, as well as by subject terms established in the Thesaurus in both German and English.
Note that the citations listed represent only 15% percent of the total listings in the Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank (which is not accessible in the three colleges).

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Identifying Relevant Books

Use the Tripod catalog for your home institution to look for relevant titles in the tricolleges.

The following subject searches using the Books+Media channel are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Catalog to find relevant materials and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

virgil criticism [Subject Search], newest titles first

epic poetry latin [Subject Search]

epic poetry classical [Subject Search]

literature and society rome [Subject Search], newest titles first

Also note these collections of articles which assemble a selected group of criticism from leading scholars:

Oxford Readings in Vergil's Aeneid. Edited by S. J. Harrison. Oxford University Press, 1990.

Vergil's Eclogues. Edited by Katharina Volk. Oxford University Press, 2008.

Vergil's Georgics. Edited by Katharina Volk. Oxford University Press, 2008.

Books from the Tricolleges and Interlibrary Loan

Tripod - For people studying on campus, sign into Tripod and use the "Request" button to have titles delivered within the Trico. They will usually usually arrive in one or two days.

For Haverford people studying remotely, use these request links: Articles or Book Chapters and Books or DVDs to have books and book chapters sent to you digitally. These links can also be found on the Support during Covid-19 page.

Worldcat - An important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tricollege Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 1 billion titles owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan. Use the button to place requests.