This book brings together a collection of newly commissioned essays which examine fundamental issues in social and political theory. Written by leading social and political philosophers, each essay provides a map to the history of the issue at hand and a judicious assessment of the main arguments that have been brought to bear upon that issue.
Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. Note the selective bibliographies at the ends of articles for further reading.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Forty-five chapters by distinguished political theorists look at the state of the field, where it has been in the recent past, and where it is likely to go in future. They examine political theory's edges as well as its core, the globalizing context of the field, and the challenges presented by social, economic, and technological changes.
Online version of the 10-volume Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Covers philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Subjects covered include: Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural,interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Routledge international handbook of contemporary social and political theory
This Handbook addresses a range of issues that have recently emerged from the disciplines of social and political theory, focusing on key themes as opposed to schools of thought or major theorists. It is divided into three sections which address:
the most influential theoretical traditions that have emerged from the legacy of the twentieth century
the most important new and emerging frameworks of analysis today
the major theoretical problems in recent social and political theory.
A peer-reviewed, open-access encyclopedia started by the Stanford University Philosophy Department in 1997. The encyclopedia consists of extended articles in all areas of philosophy. Entries are created and updated by experts in the field, and each contains extensive bibliographic references. Entries for some subject areas are still under development. Covers 1997-present, continually updated.