2009 by Jonathan Pieslak, examination of the influence and life of music in the Iraq war. Using interviews from soldiers returning from Iraq, the author approaches the practice of music in war through numerous lenses. He looks at music both on the battlefield and off--for example, in recruitment, as inspiration for combat, as a means of expression for soldiers, and as a psychological tactic (one of the cases he looks at is use of songs from PBS's Barney and Friends in the interrogation room). He also discusses the use of music by opposing forces and its function under those circumstances. Pieslak concentrates on rap and metal--by far the most common musical forms for soldiers, as they deal with their violent day-to-day existence in Iraq--looking not only at the sonic qualities but also at ideological messages and structures.
Follows the Iraqi heavy metal band Acrassicauda from the fall of Saddam Hussein to their escape from Iraq. Performance footage shot in Baghdad, Iraq in 2003 & 2005 and Damascus, Syria in 2006. Booklet includes the article "No war for heavy metal", excerpts from Acrassicauda's blog, and the lyrics for Acrassicauda's song "Massacre."
Searching for Books, Scores, Videos, and Sound Recordings
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Underhill or another library.
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.
Searching for Articles
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
The premier index for researching in music, describing books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, documentaries, conference proceedings, bibliographies, discographies, concert reviews, recording notes. Most citations include abstracts.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
A collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.