A collection of useful and often fascinating information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century. With wide-ranging coverage and an international scope, it has something to interest everyone from casual film fans to dedicated enthusiasts. Information is presented in five major sections: People in Film; Film Categories and Genres; Film-Producing Countries; 100 Notable Films; and Film Reference. [adapted from publisher's description]
Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically. With numerous student and professional examples, this engaging and practical guide progresses from taking notes and writing first drafts to creating polished essays and comprehensive research projects. Moving from movie reviews to theoretical and critical essays, the text demonstrates how an analysis of a film can become more subtle and rigorous as part of a compositional process.
Provides accessible coverage of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories and production terms. Now fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, the book includes new topical entries such as: CGI Convergence Cult cinema Digital cinema/Post-digital cinema Dogme 95* Movement-image/Time-image Quota quickies 3-D technology
European Cinema is the first book to provide overviews of key movements in European film history, from the inception of the medium in 1895 to the present. This text includes accessible introductions to traditions as diverse as early Soviet cinema, German Expressionism, Surrealism, Italian Neoralism, the French New Wave, Ealing Comedy, East-Central European cinema, Contemporary Spanish cinema, and much more. The book is divided chronologically into three sections, making it ideal for use in university film courses, and includes an invaluable glossary (comprising historical and foreign-language terms as well as technical terminology).
Encyclopedia of European Cinema by Ginette Vincendeau (Editor)