This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies
Discusses the history, development and current practice of popular music in cities, districts, cross-border regions, nation states and diasporic communities around the world. Look for the entry on the United States as well entries on regions and cities. Includes extensive articles with bibliographies, discographies, and filmographies.
Part I: Social and Cultural Dimensions, covering the social phenomena of relevance to the practice of popular music. Part II: The Industry, covers all aspects of the popular music industry, such as copyright, instrumental manufacture, management and marketing, record corporations, studios, companies, and labels. Includes extensive articles with bibliographies, discographies, sheet music listings and filmographies.
Part I: Performers and Performing; Part II: Musical Production and Transmission; Part III: Musical Instruments; Part IV: Musical Forms and Practice. Entries include musical examples, bibliographies, discographies and filmographies.
"A tour through the best of the country's popular music, giving you the story behind the sounds of more than twenty regions. Features of this unique handbook include: Critical overviews of the crucial performers and styles, from Appalachian bluegrass to New Orleans jazz, from New York klezmer to San Francisco psychedelia. Concise reviews of the essential recordings and publications in each category."