19th-Century Music covers all aspects of Western art music between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries and includes considerations of composers and compositions, styles, performance, historical watersheds, cultural formations, critical methods, musical institutions, and ideas.
In addition to browsing bibliographies listed in the "Getting Started" section of this guide and other bibliographies you discover, try browsing these specialized music journals.
The Cambridge Opera Journal has been the preeminent forum for scholarship on opera in all its manifestations. The Journal publishes essays not only on all aspects of the European operatic tradition, but also on American opera and musical theatre, on non-Western music theatres, on contemporary opera production, and on the theory and historiography of opera. Carefully researched and often illustrated with music examples and pictures, articles adopt a wide spectrum of critical approaches. As well as major articles, each issue includes reviews of recent important publications in the field.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
The premier index for researching in music, describing books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, documentaries, conference proceedings, bibliographies, discographies, concert reviews, recording notes. Most citations include abstracts.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
A collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Includes over seventy seminal as well as lesser known contemporary indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Access is by genre: 1. Multi-title Periodical Indexes (e.g., Poole's, Legal, Religion, Scientific Papers, etc.); 2. Book Indexes; 3. Newspaper Indexes; 4. Complete Individual Periodical Indexes (e.g., Harper's, Atlantic Monthly,etc.); 5. US Patents; Hansard's; US and UK Historical Government Documents