HIST 347: Quakers in East Asia (HC) [Fall 2014]: China

Douglas Borgstedt (1911-2001) was an editorial cartoonist whose work appeared in numerous newspapers and magazines such as The New Yorker. Contents include two cartoons on China's population and relations with Taiwan.

The collection includes some of Harvey's articles in typescript, correspondence, organizational memberships, miscellaneous material, travel materials. Travel materials include a diary kept during a trip to the Far East in 1914 which included an extensive visit to China both in the cause of peace and on Philadelphia Yearly Meeting business.

William Cadbury spent most of his life as a medical missionary in China at Canton Hospital and Lingnan University. Included in this collection are his correspondence, documents about organizations with which he was involved, and photographs. Due to his activities and travels there is much material related to other parts of East Asia.

William and Catherine Cadbury spent most of their lives in China serving as missionaries, with William serving as a medical missionary beginning in 1909. Included in the collection are diaries of both William (1893-1958) and Catherine (1932-1967). Also included are numerous photos William took both during his time in China as well as while travelling to other Asian countries and to Europe.

Four hand-colored photographs of Beijing.

This collection includes papers of the Mission Board of the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting, which oversaw missionary work in Japan and China.

The collection includes journals written by middle-class women on their travels to Taipei and Hong Kong.

Nathan Dunn went to China in the 1820s as a merchant, and the collection includes correspondence from his time there.

Green’s diary contains information about his life in China.

Green was a Bank of America vice-president and representative in China in the 1980s. This collection includes reports and correspondence from his time there and information on both daily life as well as the political and economic situation.

Correspondence of Robert Simkin, Harry Silcock, and Henry Hodgkin from China. Early 20th century.

Naomi Kelsey (1875/6-1967) was a member of Haverford Monthly Meeting and president of the Haverford College Women's Faculty Club. Included in the collection is a diary she kept, probably in 1936, during a leg of a world cruise, recording events in China, Japan, Hong Kong, and Hawaii and discussing people with whom she visits.

The letter, written from China, tells of author's sending letters to Omsk via Vladivostok and receiving letters, one from China; an acquaintance is going to Siberia with YWCA; clothing and moreś; Chinese orphanage. The photos identify the author's location in China (Shaohung) and offer cultural interpretations, showing people working, street scenes, waterways and buildings.

A record of the Chinese staff recruited for the Chinese customs service. The notes include details of the career paths, transfers, pay, and personal lives of 42 named senior staff examiners and assistant examiners.

Henrietta Green was a missionary to China. This book intersperses her life story with excerpts from her letters, which contain observations on Chinese society.

Bayard Taylor was an American poet and travel correspondent. This book contains his observations on the culture and geography of places he visited during a tour of Asia. Of particular interest is that Taylor’s trip to Japan was made with the expedition of Commodore Perry.

This book is an account of the work of the Ohio Yearly Meeting’s missionary work in China in the first part of the 20th century.