Scholarly journal articles are important sources of information offering:
1) Searching by the Article Title: "Lyric Bodies: Poets on Disability and Masculinity"
Check Proquest Research Library where many journal articles are available full-text.
2) By the Journal Name: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
Tip: Change Keyword in the search box to Journal Title
3) By Subject:
Use journal databases where you can apply a full range of search techniques to find scholarship on your topic. These include choosing exact terminology, using Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT to define the relationships among search terms, and employing strategies for precise results with nesting, phrase searches, truncation, field searching, and sorting results. See the Searching tab for more details.
Identifying which database/s to search is a strategic choice:
A. Multi-disciplinary databases, sometimes with magazines and newspapers included. They cover the top-tier journals but will not go into depth in all subject areas:
Proquest Research Library Enhance your PRL search by choosing a subject area with its related databases or adding individual databases from the link at the top of the page.
Web of Science Covers the humanities and social sciences as well
JSTOR All articles are full-text and come from quality journals; but the latest 3 to 5 years of articles are usually not included.
B. Subject-specific databases give more in-depth coverage of topics.
Some history databases, for example, offer broad coverage America History and Life and Historical Abstracts (for all history except the United States) while others have a more specific focus like the Bibliography of British and Irish History and Nineteenth Century Masterfile.
The Research Guides website outlines the major databases by subject area. It also includes resource lists for classes and for categories like news and government information. The Research Guides site can be searched by word or phrase (in quotations) to find something specific.
4) Accessing journal articles online and in print
Online journals are often available from more than one source. The Tripod Find It menu directs you to the sources and shows the years covered. If you have multiple choices, the university presses, JSTOR, and Project Muse offer the best functionality.
Some journals in Tripod do not have all their issues accessible online. In many cases those issues not online are available in print. There are separate records in Tripod for the online and print versions. If you need a 1994 article from NACLA, a leading journal on political issues in Latin America, the print journal record in Tripod shows that it is available on the shelf. We have the journal going back to 1972 in print, under different titles in Tripod (as the name changed) but together on the shelf.