The Special Collections Department in the Bryn Mawr College Library includes the College Archives, the historical records of Bryn Mawr College from the years immediately before its founding in 1885 to the present day. The College Archives includes student and official college publications; unpublished papers of the College's presidents, faculty members, and students; and thousands of photographs, drawing, and memorabilia.
To use the Archives, visit the Special Collections Department on the 2nd Floor of Canaday Library, or contact us at SpecColl@brynmawr.edu or 610-526-6576.
A significant portion of the College's printed records have been digitized and are available online, along with some early student letters and diaries and many photographs. Guides to these online holdings are available through the links below.
The Quaker & Special Collections Department at Haverford College includes the college archives, historical records of the college from its founding in 1833 to the present day. Materials include unpublished papers of administrators, faculty, and students; photographs, recordings, and other audio-visual materials; and college and student publications.
To use the archives, visit Quaker & Special Collections in Magill Library, or contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (610) 896-1161.
Some Haverford history materials have been digitized; the guides below note when digital versions of materials are available.
Included below are some basic guides to archival materials in Special Collections. For more detailed information, and more comprehensive collections information, please refer to the college history guide at the begining of this document.
The Archives of Swarthmore College include records of the College as a corporation, of its Board of Managers, key administrative offices and academic units, including charters, minutes, correspondence, financial records, etc. Also student records and records of student organizations, classes and alumni groups. Includes collections of personal papers of Managers, faculty, staff and alumni, as well as reference files on college history, campus, faculty, staff and deceased alumni. It also includes prints, photographs, clippings files and general memorabilia.
These records are housed and maintained by Friends Historical Library. Except for a limited number of restricted files, as noted in the finding aids, all materials may be viewed during the ours that FHL is open.
Finding Aids to Papers of Bryn Mawr Presidents, Faculty, Students and Alumnae