Research Guides: POLS 242: Women in War and Peace (HC): News

A woman with "Free Syria" on her face protests against violence, 2012, Madrid (Source: flickr, Freedom House)

Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for nearly 8,000 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.

BBC News
Click on the World link to see separate pages for the different areas of the world.

New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851 to the present. Use the link New York Times for the most recent 5 years. It requires an initial registration but then you will have access with your password for a full year.
If you want articles in the NY Times more than 5 years old, use the Proquest Historical Newspapers link for a more sophisticated search interface.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly all articles that have appeared in the Washington Post since 1877.

Africa confidential
- This link opens in a new window
Current news and analysis of political and economic issues.
Africa research bulletin. Economic, financial, and technical series
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
One of a two part monthly journal that surveys and analyzes issues continent-wide. This part addresses economic and financial issues.
Africa research bulletin. Political, social, and cultural series
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the second part of the journal devoted to political, social, and cultural issues.

AllAfrica.com
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides daily news and information in English and French from across the African continent.

News Asia (BBC)
Newspapers and News (Latin American Network Information Center)
Links to many newspapers and magazines by country.
Jadaliyya
Jadaliyya, a website sponsored by the Arab Studies Institute, includes material on current politicalevents as well as long term issues.
MideastWire.com
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides concise, translated,daily briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. Covers 2005 to the present.