Research Guides: ARTS 217: History of African-American Art From 1619 to the Present (HC): Image Sources

Digital Image Sources

TriArte: The Art and Artifacts Database of the TriColleges
TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. For finding photographs, you can enter the photographer's name in the Quick Search box. You can see Haverford's full holdings by choosing Browse the Collection by College and then Photographs. The Filter Results give listings for individual photographers.
Note too that different information is displayed about a photo according to the View you choose.
ArtStor
ArtStor presents a rich collection of digital images drawn from colleges, universities and museums. It has the majority of the material you will find in TriArte, but with higher quality scans of our photography collection. At the top of the page, click on "Enter Artstor Digital Library" and either login or sign up at the top of the page.
Enter, for example, a photographer's name in the search box and choose "Haverford College Image Collections" in the second box. Compare this version of the Subway Rider with the photo on this page from Triarte.
Haverford College master list of fine art photographs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This listing of prints in the collection is available in the Reference Room at Magill Library. Note that the supplement is arranged in four sections by the year the print was acquired.
Includes information on photographic technique and photographers' life span. The coverage ends with photographs acquired in 2012. For updates on newly acquired photographs, see the paper copy of the list kept in Special Collections which is updated with hand-written notes.

List of Photographs in Haverford Special Collections This online version of the collection list has holdings up to August 2013. Use TriArte (link above) or see the photo inventory list kept in Special Collections for more up to date information.

African Americans in Smithsonian Images
Provides over 40, 000 images with brief descriptions.
Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
The Schomburg Center presents a selection of 19th century images in a searchable database.

African American Photography

Carl van Vechten, Portrait of the artist Jacob Lawrence, 1941

Van Vechten took many photos of leading figures in the Harlem Renaissance

(Source: TriArte; Photogravure in Haverford's Special Collections)

Selected Books of Images

The Image of the Black in Western Art by David Bindman; Henry Louis Gates; et al.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0674052692
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
This groundbreaking series explores representations of Africans and their descendants from Antiquity to the present era. Note the volume for Part 5 which deals with the rise of black artists. It marks an essential shift in the series and focuses on representation of blacks by black artists in the West. The essays shed light on topics such as photography, jazz, the importance of political activism to the shaping of black identities.
The Self in Black and White by Erina Duganne
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781584658023
Publication Date: 2010-02-09
The Self in Black and White is a fascinating and original study of the ways in which notions about race and the self were formed, perpetuated, and contested in American photography during the 1950s, ’60s, and ’70s, with an emphasis on images of the civil rights movement and the War on Poverty.