Research Guides: BIOL 001: Cellular & Molecular Biology (SC): Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles: Databases

You should be able to find what you need for your Biology 1 papers and assignments here at Swarthmore. If you are having difficulty finding materials, please talk to your professor or drop by the Science Librarian's office and talk to Andrea Baruzzi. Always look for the button when you are searching in a database. Find it! will link you to the online article, if we have access to it.

If you are planning to do any research OFF-CAMPUS, you will need to log in to EZ-PROXY, which is Swarthmore's proxy server. Once you have logged in through EZ-Proxy, your access to IP-linked resources will be allowed.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database which indexes a lot of science journals and is always a good place to start your research (for any class!). Covers 1971 - present, and often provides full-text to journals not subscribed to by the Library.

Need REVIEW articles? Using the ADVANCED search screen, scroll down to the Document Type box. Select the box next to Literature Review.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database can be searched by subject, author, and journal title. Articles that CITE a known author or work can also be searched. Cited reference searching helps identify more recent articles on the same topic. Coverage for the Science Citation Index in WofS goes back to 1900. Works seamlessly with Endnote for organizing & formatting your citations! Need REVIEW articles? Run your search. On the results page, go to the REFINE RESULT in the left column. Scroll down to DOCUMENT TYPE and select REVIEW, then select the REFINE button.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GS often digs up good stuff that the other databases don't. So use this in ADDITION to the databases listed above. Use the 'Check Tripod' and 'Find it @ Swarthmore' links to see if have access to full-text. And get in the habit of running articles titles through GS (using "quotes" so the title is searched as a PHRASE) before requesting an article from InterLibrary Loan - it's amazing how many times you can turn up the full text of an article, even without a subscription!

Need REVIEW articles? There is no good way to guarantee you will be getting review articles in Google Scholar. Adding 'review' to the search box terms might work...

Finding Journal Articles: E-Journal Collections

BioOne
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to research journal articles in such fields as the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Covers 2000-present. Note: We do NOT have access to the BioOne2 collection of journals!
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.