Research Guides: EALC 299: Modern and Contemporary Japanese Literature and Film (HC): Citations

Chicago Manual of Style and Annotated Bibliographies

The required citation format is Chicago Manual of Style. This includes proper formatting for your footnotes, bibliography, and appendices for images. Refer to the resources listed below.

Chicago Manual of Style
Comprehensive guide to citations, style, usage, and grammar.

Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
Gives an overview and examples for the most common kinds of entries.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
ISBN: 9780226430577
Publication Date: 2018-04-16

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Annotated Bibliographies
Brief explanation of the how and why of annotated bibliographies.
Purdue OWL - Annotated Bibliography Samples
See the Chicago style sample at bottom of this page.
Cornell University Libraries: Critically Appraising Information Sources
See especially the section on "Critical Analysis of the Content," which will help give you ideas about the content of your annotations (rather than just the style/formatting).
Washington State University Libraries - Annotated Bibliography Sample
A more extended sample annotated bibliography.

*NOTE: double check the formatting, specifically the indentation! There should be a hanging indent in the Chicago Style bibliography format.*

Citation Manager - Zotero

Zotero
The TriCollege Libraries recommend Zotero, a free online app that can format your bibliography, keep your citations organized, and even save your articles in the cloud so you can access them later from the library, home, or café.
Guide to Zotero
Tricollege guide for using Zotero. Starts with an introduction and installation. It then describeshow to use it as a versatile tool for research,organization, footnotes and bibliography.
Organizing with Zotero video
Workshop led by Dee Brown, Haverford College research and instruction librarian.
Zotero Tutorial
See this Haverford video tutorial for a hands-on introduction to using Zotero.

Bryn Mawr Zotero Workshops

Bryn Mawr regularly holds in-person and Zoom workshops on an introduction to Zotero. For the next upcoming workshop, consult the LITS calendar.