Skip to main content

ENGL 099: Senior Major Colloquium (SC) Fall 2013

English 099: Senior Major Colloquium (Mani) Fall 2013

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before conducting your search:

  • Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

  • Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords.  What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making?  (E.g., insurgency vs. rebellion)

  • Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

  • Indentify disciplines that are relevant to your research question.  Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional discplines or cut across them.

See the Search Tips tab for additional information about searching Tripod Articles and other databases.

Start Here

Start your search with the two most extensive indices in English literary studies, the MLA International Bibliography (also known as MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (also known as ABELL).  Use Literature Online to search both indices simultaneously. 

The MLAIB and ABELL do not include full-text copies of articles or chapters, but use the "FindIt" button located at the bottom of each record to see whether the Tri-College Libraries have access to the journal or book from which a citation comes.  You may alternatively check Tripod for the titles of journals, monographs, and essay collections.  The MLAIB and ABELL include citations from other popular research databases, including JSTOR, Project MuseProquest, and others, so be sure to start here before moving on to one of these other databases. 

Additional Multi-Period, Multi-Topic Sources

Tracing Cited References

Researchers can often find useful scholarship by identifying one particularly relevant book or article and seeing which sources that text cites.  With print texts, this process might involve checking the bibliography.  In some databases, you can also trace citations forward in time and find subsequent material that cites a particularly useful resource.  Use the following databases to find a relevant resource and then see which later texts cite the one with which you start.  Keep in mind, however, that the citations will not be comprehensive—i.e., the citations will often be limited by the scope of the database in which you're working.

Period-Specific Guides