Produced in collaboration with a Smithsonian Folkways Recordings editorial board of scholars, this thirty DVD, nine book collection contains over 500 performances and 1200 pages of text from 100 countries. The books contain full glossaries, detailed descriptions, and individual essays on the social, cultural, and historical background of the music, dance, instruments, costumes and rituals. They also include maps, charts, photos, and a complete cross-reference index.
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification, caste systems and slavery, kinship, political organization, conflict and resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
A performing arts video library of operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated.