"In Music in the Holocaust Shirli Gilbert provides the first large-scale, critical account in English of the role of music amongst communities imprisoned under Nazism. She documents a wide scope of musical activities, ranging from orchestras and chamber groups to choirs, theatres, communal sing-songs, and cabarets, in some of the most important internment centres in Nazi-occupied Europe, including Auschwitz and the Warsaw and Vilna ghettos. Gilbert is also concerned with exploring the ways in which music - particularly the many songs that were preserved - contribute to our broader understanding of the Holocaust and the experiences of its victims. Music in the Holocaust is, at its core, a social history, taking as its focus the lives of individuals and communities imprisoned under Nazism. Music opens a unique window on to the internal world of those communities, offering insight into how they understood, interpreted, and responded to their experiences at the time."--BOOK JACKET.
"Rejected for publication in Poland because its portrayal of the Nazis was "too sympathetic," Music of Another World presents a disturbing description of a phenomenon seldom mentioned in the literature of the Holocaust: the presence of music among the crematoria of Auschwitz." "Compassionate yet detached, ironic yet pitilessly honest, Szymon Laks, the kapellmeister of the Auschwitz orchestra, recounts the inconceivable spectacle of SS guards who grew teary at the sound of familiar melodies giving themselves up to the furies of extermination. Music led to the salvation of some; for others it led the way to the gas chambers. That Lak and others were capable of making music at Auschwitz is almost beyond belief. Yet they did so with meager resources and with full knowledge of what it would mean if they did not. Music of Another World is a testament not only to the human spirit but also to music itself, the beauty of which Laks and others honored even as the lives of so many were destroyed"
In 1943, Fania Fenelon was a Paris cabaret singer, a secret member of the Resistance, and a Jew. Captured by the Nazis, she was sent to Auschwitz, and later, Bergen-Belsen. With unnerving clarity and an astonishing ability to find humor where only despair should prevail, the author charts her eleven months as one of "the orchestra girls"; writes of the loves, the laughter, hatreds, jealousies, and tensions that racked this privileged group whose only hope of survival was to make music.
"An imprisoned bookbinder wrote some inspiring words in a small blank book that he had secretly crafted from pilfered materials at the Terezin concentration camp in September 1944. He presented the album to a fellow prisoner, twenty-one-year-old Marianka Zadikow. Over the next several months, as the Nazis pressed forward with mass deportations from Terezin to Auschwitz, Marianka began to collect inscriptions and sketches from her fellow inmates." "Marianka Zadikow's album, presented here in a facsimile edition, is a poignant document from the last months of the Holocaust. The words and images inscribed here - by children and grandparents, factory workers and farmhands, professionals and intellectuals, musicians and artists - reflect both joy and trepidation. They include passages of remembered verse, lovingly executed drawings, and hurried farewells on the eve of transport to Auschwitz. The great German-Jewish scholar Rabbi Leo Baeck, one of the elders of the camp, offers Marianka an
inscription about Jewish self-discovery, and participants in Terezin's now-famous musical performances fill several pages with musical annotation." "Facing-page translations render the book's multitude of languages into English, while historical and biographical notes give details, where known, of the fates of those whose words are recorded here. An introduction by acclaimed Holocaust scholar Deborah Dwork tells the story of the Terezin camp and how Marianka and her family fared while imprisoned there." "The array of voices and the glimpses into individual lives afforded us by The Terezin Album make it an arresting reminder of the sustaining power of care, community, and hope amid darkness."--BOOK JACKET.
Identifies classic songs of the era, many of them about the war. Includes a thorough survey of jazz, especially swing, and discussion of rhythm and blues; important music of radio, stage, and screen; and important beacons in country and classical music of the era. They also discuss significant aspects of music-business history during the period, including major events that led to developments in the industry during the early 1940s.
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.