Offers full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. In English and Spanish, it offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Ethnic NewsWatch covers 1990-present. ENW: A History covers 1959-1989.
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Covers 1970-present.
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
Abstracts from alternative news sources, including radical and left journals, newspapers, and magazines. At Swarthmore, the print index goes back to 1983. At Bryn Mawr, the print index goes back to 1969.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies, men's studies, and sexual diversity issues. Includes content from Women's Studies International, the Men's Studies Database and the Sexual Diversity Studies Database. Covers 1972-present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
This resource provides documents pertaining to women and social movements. Includes document projects that interpret and present documents to address a question or a scholarly debate. Also includes images, a dictionary of social movements, a chronology and teaching tools. Covers the 17th century to the 21st century.
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus.
LGBT Studies in Video contains films covering the study of gender, media studies, and politics. The films address issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, gay and lesbian studies, and provide insights into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society. The collection is global in scope.
ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
Module one (Federal government records) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module (Organizational records and personal papers) is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies and contains records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement.
Collection: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--education, voting, housing, employment, armed forces. Major campaigns for equal access to education, voting, employment, housing and the military are covered in this module. The education files in this module document the NAACP’s systematic assault on segregated education that culminated in Brown v. Board of Education in 1954. Files from 1955 –1965 focus on the NAACP’s efforts to implementthe Brown decision as well as to combat de facto segregation outside of the South.
Collection: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, anti-lynching, criminal justice, peonage, labor, and segregation and discrimination complaints and responses. Focuses on the NAACP's efforts regarding anti-lynching, peonage, and discrimination in employment and the criminal justice system. A rich set of records in this module is the NAACP file on one of the most celebrated criminal trials of the 20th century---the case of the Scottsboro boys.