Research Guides: ECON 314: Economics of Social Policy (BMC): Finding Articles

Economics/Policy Sources

EconLit
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.
PolicyFile
Provides access to articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Covers a wide range of topics from international trade to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to terrorism. Most content is NOT peer-reviewed.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.

EconPapers
Provides the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software. The majority of titles are available full text. Check Tripod for those that are not. Article delivery can supply most of the items not in Tripod.
National Bureau of Economic Research free publications
Search all the publications of the NBER including the working papers database, Reporter, Digest and books.

Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research)
NBER Working Papers is published by National Bureau of Economic Research, the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization. Approximately 500 working papers are published each year and comprise an important source of information on a broad range of economic topics. Available online from 1973-present.

Economic Success Clearinghouse (formerly the Welfare Information Network)
A project of The Finance Project, this is a clearinghouse for information, policy analysis and technical assistance related to welfare, workforce development, and other human and community services. See the Publications tab for a searchable database of policy reports.

Social Work Abstracts
Find scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and books dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Social Services Abstracts
Find scholarly journal articles and dissertations in the areas of social work, social services, and social policy. International in scope.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.

ProQuest Research Library
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
JSTOR
Access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in most academic disciplines. For journals, coverage is from first issue through three to five years ago.