A Dictionary of Economics (Oxford, 2017)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
Palgrave Dictionary of Emerging Markets and Transition Economics (2015) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Economic Development and Institutions by
The definitive reference on the most current economics of development and institutions The essential role that institutions play in understanding economic development has long been recognized across the social sciences, including in economics. Academic and policy interest in this subject has never been higher. The Handbook of Economic Development and Institutions is the first to bring together in one single volume the most cutting-edge work in this area by the best-known international economists. The volume's editors, themselves leading scholars in the discipline, provide a comprehensive introduction, and the stellar contributors offer up-to-date analysis into institutional change and its interactions with the dynamics of economic development. This book focuses on three critical issues: the definitions of institutions in order to argue for a causal link to development, the complex interplay between formal and informal institutions, and the evolution and coevolution of institutions and their interactions with the political economy of development. Topics examined include the relationship between institutions and growth, educational systems, the role of the media, and the intersection between traditional systems of patronage and political institutions. Each chapter--covering the frontier research in its area and pointing to new areas of research--is the product of extensive workshopping on the part of the contributors. The definitive reference work on this topic, The Handbook of Economic Development and Institutions will be essential for academics, researchers, and professionals working in the field.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Economic Sociology for the 21st Century by
This handbook provides an overview on major developments that occurred in the field of economic sociology after its rebirth since the 1980s in the US. It offers new insights on the uniqueness of European economic sociology compared to US economic sociology which emerged at the end of the 20th century. The handbook presents economic sociology as a developing field which started with certain foundations as new economic sociology, widening the perspective by introducing social factors thereby focusing more on general belief systems, social forms of coordination and the relationships between society and the economy. It offers an outstanding portrait of the research field helping to identify major foundations and trajectories as well as new research perspectives for a globalized economic sociology. This makes the handbook appeal to specialized researchers of the field, researchers from other disciplines interested in economic phenomena, as well as graduate and postgraduate students.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Global Trade Policy by
Provides a state-of-the-art overview of international trade policy research The Handbook of Global Trade Policy offers readers a comprehensive resource for the study of international trade policy, governance, and financing. This timely and authoritative work presents contributions from a team of prominent experts that assess the policy implications of recent academic research on the subject. Discussions of contemporary research in fields such as economics, international business, international relations, law, and global politics help readers develop an expansive, interdisciplinary knowledge of 21st century foreign trade. Accessible for students, yet relevant for practitioners and researchers, this book expertly guides readers through essential literature in the field while highlighting new connections between social science research and global policy-making. Authoritative chapters address new realities of the global trade environment, global governance and international institutions, multilateral trade agreements, regional trade in developing countries, value chains in the Pacific Rim, and more. Designed to provide a well-rounded survey of the subject, this book covers financing trade such as export credit arrangements in developing economies, export insurance markets, climate finance, and recent initiatives of the World Trade Organization (WTO). This state-of-the-art overview: Integrates new data and up-to-date research in the field Offers an interdisciplinary approach to examining global trade policy Introduces fundamental concepts of global trade in an understandable style Combines contemporary economic, legal, financial, and policy topics Presents a wide range of perspectives on current issues surrounding trade practices and policies The Handbook of Global Trade Policy is a valuable resource for students, professionals, academics, researchers, and policy-makers in all areas of international trade, economics, business, and finance.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Trade Policy for Development (2013)
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the issues that dominate both academic discourse and the policymaking arena in the field of international trade, bringing to bear the insights of economics, law, and political science.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Handbook on Trade and Development (2015)
This timely Handbook comprehensively explores the complex relationships between trade and economic performance in developing countries, illustrating that it is not trade per se that is important but the context, at the firm, country and regional level, in which trade occurs. The Handbook on Trade and Development provides a review of the current understanding of major trade issues facing developing countries through considering specific region or country case studies. Broad topics are covered including trade costs and facilitation; trade preferences; trade and firm performance; and child labour.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook of Economic Imperialism by
Imperialism has resurfaced as an area of scholarly study in recent years, particularly among those concerned with political economy and international relations. Do countries engage in foreign intervention and "just war" because they feel a responsibility toward the international community? Orare these actions rationalizations for the pursuit of commercial, industrial, financial, and military interests? Around the world, economies, cultures, politics, laws, and nation-states are profoundly shaped by imperialism, both historical and contemporary.Including thirty-four chapters written by academics and experts in the field of international political economy, The Oxford Handbook of Economic Imperialism presents comprehensive theoretical, empirical, and historical accounts of economic imperialism from the early modern age to the present. Overthe course of three sections, the Handbook looks at the theory and concepts behind the study of imperialism, the international political economy of imperialism, and imperialism in various regions of the world today. In so doing, the Handbook demonstrates the persistence of economic imperialism intoday's postcolonial world, and the enduring control wielded by great powers even after the end of formal empire. Moreover, the Handbook reveals how emerging powers are expanding economic control in new geographic and geopolitical contexts, and highlights the significance of economic imperialism inthe structures, relations, processes, and ideas that sustain poverty and conflict worldwide.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook of the Economics of the Pacific Rim
The Pacific Rim is a dynamic as well as diverse economic region, containing the world's three largest economies (US, China and Japan, measured by GDP at PPP). This Handbook will begin with institutional and historical perspectives, go on to consider various dimensions of economic policies, then examine the growth process and specific challenges to growth, and finally consider the key theme of regional economic integration in its many dimensions, including trade, investment, monetary coordination, crisis management and value networks.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook of International Political Economy
The Palgrave Handbook of Comparative Economics by
This book aims to define comparative economics and to illustrate the breadth and depth of its contribution. It starts with an historiography of the field, arguing for a continued legacy of comparative economic systems, which compared socialism and capitalism, a field which some argued should have been replaced by institutional economics after the fall of the Berlin Wall. The process of transition to market capitalism is reviewed, and itself exemplifies a new combination of comparative analysis with a focus on institutional development. Going beyond, chapters broadening the application of comparative analysis and applying it to new issues and approaches, including the role and definition of institutions, subjective wellbeing, inequality, populism, demography, and novel methodologies. Overall, comparative economics has evolved in the past 30 years, and remains a powerful approach for analyzing important issues.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Palgrave Handbook of Development Economics by
This Handbook responds to the needs and aspirations of current and future generations of development economists by providing critical reference material alongside or in relation to mainstream propositions. Despite the potential of globalisation in accelerating growth and development in low and middle-income countries through the spread of technology, knowledge and information, its current practice in many parts of the world has led to processes that are socially, economically and politically and ecologically unsustainable. It is critical for development economists to engage with the pivotal question of how to change the nature and course of globalisation to make it work for inclusive and sustainable development. Applying a critical and pluralistic approach, the chapters in this Handbook examine economics of development paths under globalisation, focusing on sustainable development in social, environmental, institutional and political economy dimensions. It aims at advancing the frontier of development economics in these key aspects and generating more refined policy perspectives. It is critically reflective in examining effects of globalisation on development paths to date, and in terms of methodological and analytical approaches, as well as forward-thinking in policy perspectives with a view to laying a foundation for sustainable development.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Palgrave Handbook of Economics and Language by
Do the languages people speak influence their economic decisions and social behavior in multilingual societies? This Handbook brings together scholars from various disciplines to examine the links and tensions between economics and language to find the delicate balance between monetary benefits and psychological costs of linguistic dynamics.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Economics (2015)
The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Economics offers new insights into the rapidly-developing economies of Southeast Asia. Organized according to the logic of chronological and thematic unity, it is structured in these sections: Growth and development over the long term Food, agriculture and natural resources Trade, investment and industrialization Population, labor, and human capital Poverty and political economy Twenty-first century challenges This original Handbook, written by experts in their fields, is unique in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Its forward-looking perspective renders it relevant both now and in the future.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by
Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses. Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history), the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. Features: 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions Organized A-to-Z with a thematic Reader's Guide in the front matter groups related entries Articles conclude with References & Future Readings to guide students to the next step on their research journeys Cross-references between and among articles combine with a thorough Index and the Reader's Guide to enhance search-and-browse in the electronic version Pedagogical elements include a Chronology of Economics and Society, Resource Guide, and Glossary This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window