Research Guides: CPSC 097: Computer Science Senior Conference (SC): Finding Journal Articles

Journals & Conference Proceedings

Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the Association of Computing Machinery's journals and other resources including conference proceedings, newsletters and transactions. Includes computer science and related disciplines. Covers 1969-present.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, as well as eBooks and educational courses. IEEE Xplore also includes content from select other publishers including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), MIT Press, IBM, Alcatel-Lucent, VDE Verlag, and AIP/AVS (American Institute of Physics/American Vacuum Society).
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. The library now is 'subscribing' to most Elsevier journals on a PER ARTICLE basis. So if you find an article you would like to read, press the PURCHASE button. BUT - check GOOGLE SCHOLAR first, as you might find a FREE version of the article in a university or college archive!

Databases

Now you want to see what has been written specifically about your topic in JOURNALS. If you need an overview of a topic, you may be able to limit your search to review articles. Look for the button and click on it to see if you can online access to the citation's article. If Swarthmore does not have access to the online article, you will be given the option to Check Tripod for PRINT access, or it will populate an InterLibrary Loan form for you.

If you are planning to do any research off-campus, you will need to log in to EZ-PROXY, which is Swarthmore's proxy server. Once you have logged in through the proxy server, your access to IP-linked resources will be allowed.

Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database can be searched by subject, author, and journal title. Articles that CITE a known author or work can also be searched. Cited reference searching helps identify more recent articles on the same topic. Coverage for the Science Citation Index in WofK goes back to 1900! Need a REVIEW article? Run your search. On the results page, go to the REFINE RESULTS in the left column. Scroll down to DOCUMENT TYPE and select REVIEW, then select the REFINE button.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Check Tripod" and "Find it @ Swarthmore" links to see if we have access to full text. GS also often provides full-text access to articles in journals to which we don't actually subscribe - so get in the habit of copying & pasting title articles in to GS (use "QUOTES" so GS treats the title as a phrase!) - check "All x versions" - there will often be access to full-text via one of these versions. If you try this trick in GOOGLE, be sure to add 'PDF' to your search! Need a REVIEW article? There is no good way to guarantee you will be getting review articles in Google Scholar. Adding 'review' to the search box terms might work...

CoRR: Computing Research Repository
Funded by Cornell University, CoRR is part of the arXiv collection, that allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository.
CiteSeerX
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Always a good place to START your research. Provides online access to an extensive collection of full-text articles from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. Covers 1971-present. Need a REVIEW article? Using the ADVANCED search screen, scroll down to the Document Type box. Select the box next to Literature Review.