Skip to main content

Educational Technology Resources at Bryn Mawr College

Find out about educational technologies available to members of the Bryn Mawr College community.

Citation Management

For Most Undergraduates

EasyBib logoEasyBib is a lightweight citation and bibliography maker that is popular with students. Bryn Mawr has an institutional subscription to EasyBib Pro, which supports MLA, APA and Chicago citation styles and is suitable for basic undergraduate research.

Want to learn more?


Faculty, Graduate Students, and Advanced Undergraduates

Zotero         Mendeley Logo
 Zotero and Mendeley are web-based bibliographic tools available to researchers on a "freemium" basis. You can gather, and organize bibliographic data, attach notes and article files to sources, and insert formatted citations and bibliographies into text documents. Both tools allow you share bibliographic lists and notes with select users or with the public, and some researchers use the latter feature to "crowd-source" bibliographic research.

The Tri-Co libraries recommend and support Zotero, a bibliographic research tool available as an add-in for Firefox, or as installable software for the Mac, PC, and Linux, with plug-ins for Safari, Chrome, and Firefox. Zotero enables you to gather and organize bibliographic data, attach notes and files, and automatically format citations and bibliographies in a wide range of styles.

Mendeley is a newer product with identical features, and a particularly wide uptake within some scientific communities.

Want to learn more?

Other Research Tools


EverNote LogoEvernote is a clipping and note-taking service that allows you to collect URLs, text or "clippings" from websites, images, and pdf files in annotated notebooks, which can share with colleagues. It does not have built-in citation-management features, but it is more flexible in terms of the types of material you can store. Windows, Mac, iOS and Android devices versions are available.

Diigo is a social bookmarking website, available on a "freemium" basis, and allows users to bookmark sites and add tags, highlights, and sticky notes to the page or to specific parts of the page. Users can share these bookmarks and annotations publicly or with a group, or keep them private.

Want to learn more?