Research Guides: ECON 151: International Economics (SC): Data & Statistics

Key Resources

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
Contains time series data for most IMF members (over 200 countries) from 1993-present, covering exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking accounts, interest rates, production, stock prices, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and commodity and trade statistics. Updated monthly.
more...less...
How to use IFS: Click the link for your school, then scroll down to "Query within a Dataset" and select "International Financial Statistics (IFS)."

To find information using IFS, you need to specify at least one Country and at least one Concept (e.g. interest rates). Use the plus signs to expand lists of countries and concepts, then click on your choices to add them to the search (at the left).
Observation of Economic Complexity (OEC)
Visualizes bilateral trade data for roughly 200 countries, covering 50 years and 1,000+ products/goods
Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
DOTS presents the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to a country's primary trading partners.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.

International Country Risk Guide
The ICRG (International Country Risk Guide) Researcher's Dataset from the PRS Group comprises 22 variables in three subcategories of risk (political, financial, and economic), for 146 countries, over the period 1984 to the previous year. Data are annual averages of components published in the International Country Risk Guide.

UNdata
A single entry portal for UN databases. Find data series by searching or browsing by theme. Includes Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries to aid research. All countries and a wide range of themes are covered.

Penn World Table
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
International yearbook of industrial statistics
The annual print versions of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) statistics (INDSTAT) are located in the Canaday Reference section (Floor 1) and on Floor B.

Statista: The Leading Statistics Portal
Provides access to selected statistics and studies of over 600 industries gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources from 2007 to the present.