Skip to main content

Resources for Research

Multicultural Scholars Workshop

Personal Librarians

Personal librarians began working with first year students this year, introducing them to resources and services that will help with their work and enrich their thinking.  They provide:

·         First point of contact for all library and research needs

·         Responses to your questions as they come up

·         Information for leveraging the full array of library spaces, online and print collections, staff and services, and research strategies

·         Ideas about understanding and evaluating articles, books, and other materials as you research 

·         Help when you are not sure what to do or where to start

·         Support year-round even when you are away from campus

Research Meetings

Subject specialist librarians work with students and faculty in every department and program.  They provide intensive, one-on-one support of students throughout their college career and culminating in their senior capstone projects.  To arrange a meeting, just email the librarian who works with the department in which your particular course is offered.  

Students can get help getting started in developing a research question and beginning a search. 

For students further along in the process, they can get advice on research tools, answers to specific questions, and new sources. 

The librarian drafts research notes ahead of time, adds to them during the meeting, and sends the results to the student.   They cover search strategies, research tools, and important individual titles.

 

Sample Research Notes

Journal Indexes

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

PAIS International  (covers public policy)

PsycInfo

PubMed  (covers medicine)

Social Work Abstracts

Social Services Abstracts

ProQuest Research Library  (general subject coverage)

Results include:

ARGENTINA: PSYCHIATRIC PATIENTS' RADIO STATION LOSES FUNDING

Valente, Marcela. Global Information Network [New York] 19 June 2007: 1. 

...is based in Buenos Aires. "The city government has not renewed our contract
...friends got assistance from the city government to pay for a room in a boarding

·         Citation/Abstract

·         Full text

 

Reports and Books

WorldCat

Example:  Title: Argentina on the couch :

psychiatry, state, and society, 1880 to the present /

Author(s):           Plotkin, Mariano Ben,; 1961-

 

Madness in Buenos Aires : patients, psychiatrists, and the Argentine state, 1880-1983 /

Author: Ablard, Jonathan. Publication: Calgary, Alta. : University of Calgary Press ; Athens : Ohio University Press, 2008

 

Newspapers

Oakland Tribune 2001 to the present  (Connect through Tripod)

New York Times

World News Connection

LANIC Newspapers for Argentina  http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/argentina/#news

 

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses

Example dealing more broadly with health policy in Argentina

Exploring attitudes and perceptions of policymakers and health researchers towards evidence-based health policymaking in Argentina: A mixed methods approach

Diss.Corluka, Adrijana. The Johns Hopkins University, 2011. 3463377. 

...policymakers and health researchers regarding
...policymaking in Argentina. 
...disconnect between health research and policymaking

References (‎117)    

·         Citation/Abstract

·         Preview -‎ PDF (573 KB)‎

·         Full text - PDF (8 MB)‎

 

 

California

Legal Resources

Law Reviews --   Part of LexisNexis Academic.  Choose US Legal, then Law Reviews

 

State Statutes, Codes & Regulations -- Part of LexisNexis Academic.  Choose US Legal

 

Federal & State Cases  -- Part of LexisNexis Academic.  Choose US Legal

 

Medical Resources

California Psychiatric Association

http://www.calpsych.org/

 

Political Resources

LexisNexis State Capital

State bills, statutes, legislative reports

Available at BMC

 

National Conference of State Legislatures

Provides research and advocacy for state governments

Results for search on mental health:  http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health.aspx?zoom_query=mental%20health&tabs=831,4,1024#1024

 

California Agencies and Resources (from the U C Berkeley Public Health Library)

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/PUBL/california.html

 

Argentina

 

Journal Indexes  (Connect through Tripod)

Clase & Periodica

Example: 

Author(s):

Mantilla, María Jimena 
Affiliation: Universidad de Buenos Aires, Instituto de Investigaciones Gino Germani, Buenos Aires. Argentina E-mail: jimenamantilla@yahoo.com.ar

Title:

"Riesgo", "peligrosidad" e "implicacion subjetiva": un analisis de las decisiones de internacion psiquiatrica en la ciudad de Buenos Aires

Source:

Interface (Botucatu) V14 N32 (ene-mar 2010) P115-126

 

Handbook of Latin American Studies

HAPI

 

Legal Resources

Legislaw: Banco Jurídico Argentino Legislación, jurisprudencia, doctrina,asociaciones de derecho, organismos, educación, etc.

 

Medical Resources

Pan American Health Organization

http://new.paho.org/index.php

Example from search:  New Mental Health Law Enacted in Argentina

https://new.paho.org/bulletins/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=798&Itemid=272

 

Ministerio de Salud Argentina:  http://www.msal.gov.ar/

 

Reports

Example:  Las políticas públicas de infancia y salud mental

http://asesoria.jusbaires.gob.ar/sites/default/files/Las%20Pol%C3%ADticas%20P%C3%BAblicas%20de%20Infancia%20y%20Salud%20Mental.pdf

Infancia y Salud Mental en la Ciudad de Buenos Aires. Compendio normativo.

http://asesoria.jusbaires.gob.ar/content/1-infancia-y-salud-mental-en-la-ciudad-de-buenos-aires-compendio-normativo.html

 

Political Resources

Congreso de la Nación Argentina

 

Subject Guide

Margaret Schaus's picture
Margaret Schaus