A peer-reviewed, open-access encyclopedia started by the Stanford University Philosophy Department in 1997. The encyclopedia consists of extended articles in all areas of philosophy. Entries are created and updated by experts in the field, and each contains extensive bibliographic references. Entries for some subject areas are still under development. Covers 1997-present, continually updated.
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews began publication in January 2002. It is entirely devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews (normal length: 1500-2500 words). Reviews continually appear, usually five to twelve in the course of each week. The goal of the Review is to review a good majority of the scholarly philosophy books issued each year and to have the review appear within six to twelve months of a book's publication. Reviews are commissioned and vetted by a distinguished international Editorial Board.
A peer-reviewed academic resource. The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Includes volumes on many individual philosophers, such as the Cambridge Companion to Heidegger, and on broader topics in philosophy, such as the Cambridge Companion to Modern Jewish Philosophy. Most of these volumes are also available in print in the trico.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of the Cambridge Histories series. Examples include the Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought, and the Cambridge History of Eighteenth Century Philosophy
Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in normative ethics, metaethics, and practical ethics. Covers the major philosophical, legal and religious traditions.
Available In Print
The Routledge Companion to Aesthetics by Berys Gaut (Editor); Dominic McIver Lopes (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002-10-18
"The Routledge Companion to Aesthetics" is one of a number of volumes in the "Routledge Companion" series of books that focus on major topics in philosophy. Other volumes include ethics, epistemology, metaphysics, and philosophy of languages, among others. The books are available only in print, and may be at Haverford or Swarthmore.
The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Mind by Stephen P. Stich; Ted A. Warfield; Fred Adams (Contribution by); Kenneth Aizawa (Contribution by); John Bickle (Contribution by); Dave Chalmers (Contribution by); Andy Clark (Contribution by); Paul Griffiths (Contribution by); Randolph Clark (Contribution
Publication Date: 2003-01-17
"The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Mind" is one of a number of volumes in the "Blackwell Guide" series of books on major topics in philosophy. Other volumes include social and political philosophy, ethical theory, epistemology, and feminist philosophy. A few titles are available online, but most are only in print, and may be at Haverford or Swarthmore.