Research Guides: News Sources: Alternative Press

Alternative Press Resources

Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research tool for identifying articles in 300+ radical and left journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes US and global publications, in English and other languages.

Democracy Now!
A national, daily, independent, award-winning news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.

Ethnic Newswatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.
GenderWatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Covers 1970-present.

ProPublica
Published independent, investigative journalism. A good site for under-reported stories.
Find Your News: Nonprofit Newsrooms by State and Topic
Use this database to find non-profit newsrooms across the US. You can explore by topic (e.g. housing & unhoused communities) as well as location and language.

LGBTQ+ Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus.