Research Guides: EALC 325: Science and Colonialism in China (BMC): Government Documents

U.S. Government Publications and Documents

U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The online version of the multi-volumes resource that contains all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Provides primary source material on all aspects of American history. Complete through 1933, and will eventually go to 1980.

GPO monthly catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes citations of U.S. government documents, including: Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by departments in the Executive branch including the departments of Defense, State and Labor. Covers 1976-present.
Despatches from United States consuls in Shanghai, 1847-1906
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
53 reels of microfilm. Held at the Swarthmore Library.

Chinese documents

Shanghai Municipal Police files
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Shanghai Municipal Police Files, 1894-1949 (67 reels of microfilm): Includes reports of the Central Intelligence Division of Shanghai Municipal Police between 1914 and 1944. Use Guide to the Scholarly Resources Microfilm Edition of the Shanghai Municipal Police Files, 1894-1949, to access information. Housed at the Swarthmore Library

British Government Publications

The Tri-College libraries have long runs of the proceedings of Parliament. In addition, the Irish University Press has recently published large collections of 19th century reports to Parliament, organized around specific topics (colonies, crime, etc). Many of these collections are either at Bryn Mawr or one of the other Tri-college libraries. For detailed directions on using British government publications, see the University of Pennsylvania Library's very good online research guide.

League of Nations

League of Nations documents, 1919-1946
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bryn Mawr holds the microfilm collection of League of Nations records, containing over 25,000 documents, including most of those listed separately in Tripod. There is a 3 vol. guide in the Microfilm Room (M-Film RmDoc Z6473 .R45)