Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for nearly 8,000 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.
Provides full text searching and PDF page images of the New York Times from 1855 until three years ago. Outstanding resource for historical research! Click the link for your school, then the "ProQuest Historical Newspapers" option.
Database of primary sources focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women during the 19th-20th centuries.
• Topics include: women's suffrage, reproductive rights, labor activism, pacifism, socialism, mental health, temperance
• Source types include: records of activist organizations, periodicals (e.g. magazines, newsletters), manuscripts, images, personal papers of individual women
• Time period: 19th-20th century
• Regions: Emphasizes United States and England. Also includes materials from Canada, Australia, and some other countries (mostly European).
This resource provides documents pertaining to women and social movements. Includes document projects that interpret and present documents to address a question or a scholarly debate. Also includes images, a dictionary of social movements, a chronology and teaching tools. Covers the 17th century to the 21st century.
Women & Social Movements International: 1840 to present
"Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. This digital archive offers 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century."
