Research Guides: ECON 396: Resources for Economics Thesis Writers (HC): Find Books & Background Sources

Find Background Sources

It is a good idea to start with background sources in encyclopedias and other reference books to be sure you understand the big picture issues related to your topic. These background works often provide helpful bibliographies and links to more specific and seminal sources.

Annual Reviews
A searchable collection of critical review articles capturing the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported, what is controversial, and where further research is needed. See, in particular, the Annual Review journals for Economics, Financial Economics, Law and Social Sciences, and Resource Economics.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
Original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Articles are in-depth overviews of socio-economic topics, 1991-present. See, in particular, Topic collections for Business and Economics, Employment and Labor, Government Budget and Taxes, and International Trade and Development.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Economic Surveys
OECD’s periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Member country reviews are generally done on an 18 month cycle, while non-member reviews are done as agreed with the subject country. A minimum of 18 surveys are done each year. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with the challenges.

All economics reference books in Tripod
Customize this search of all economics, finance, and business-related reference handbooks and guides in Tripod with your subtopic of interest.

Find Books and Dissertations

Tripod Library Catalog
- Use Tripod to find resources available from the TriCo Libraries.
- Search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more
WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog, with over 1.5 billion items representating the collections of thousands of libraries worldwide. If you discover a book that you want through WorldCat, click the green "FindIt" button and complete the pre-populated interlibrary loan form with your name and 14-digit barcode from your ID card. Books borrowed from WorldCat generally take 7-14 days to arrive.
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.