Research Guides: *Linguistics*: Home

Best Bets for Linguistics Research

Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on linguistics.
LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.
Ethnologue
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the world's over 7000 known living languages. Includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, demographic and sociolinguistic information when known. Includes country index with maps, language names index, language codes and language families index.
- Haverford and Swarthmore have access to all Ethnologue content via a subscription; Bryn Mawr has limited free page views to full content.

Linguistics Theses

Identifying Relevant Books

All books owned by libraries in the tri-co can be accessed through Tripod. (that link is for Haverford students, if you are a BMC or SC student, please use the link for your school).

To find books that are relevant to your research topic, you can begin by developing search terms that speak to your particular interests.

Once you've identified a relevant book, you can find more like it by looking at the virtual browse feature at the bottom of the catalog entry.

Reference Sources

The Handbook of Linguistics by Mark Aronoff (Editor); Janie Rees-Miller (Editor) The Handbook of Linguistics provides overviews of 29 subfields of linguistics, each written by one of the leading researchers in that subfield. It explores: psycholinguistics, linguistic anthropology and ethnolinguistics, sociolinguistic theory, language variation and second language pedagogy.
ISBN: 9781119072270
Publication Date: 2017
The Cambridge Dictionary of Linguistics by Keith Brown; Jim Miller
ISBN: 9781139049412
Publication Date: 2014-11-21
The Cambridge Dictionary of Linguistics provides concise and clear definitions of all the terms any undergraduate or graduate student is likely to encounter in the study of linguistics and English language or in other degrees involving linguistics, such as modern languages, media studies and translation. lt covers the key areas of syntax, morphology, phonology, phonetics, semantics and pragmatics but also contains terms from discourse analysis, stylistics, historical linguistics, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, computational linguistics and corpus linguistics. It provides entries for 246 languages, including 'major' languages and languages regularly mentioned in research papers and textbooks.
The Cambridge Handbook of Language Contact by Anna Maria Escobar (Editor); Anna María Escobar (Editor); Salikoko S. Mufwene (Editor)
ISBN: 9781009105989
Publication Date: 2022-06-02
Language contact - the linguistic and social outcomes of two or more languages coming into contact with each other - has been pervasive in human history. However, where histories of language contact are comparable, experiences of migrant populations have been only similar, not identical. Given this, how does language contact work? With contributions from an international team of scholars, this Handbook - the first in a two-volume set - delves into this question from multiple perspectives and provides state-of-the-art research on population movement and language contact and change.
The Cambridge Handbook of Phonology by Paul de Lacy (Editor)
ISBN: 0521848792
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Phonology - the study of how the sounds of speech are represented in our minds - is one of the core areas of linguistic theory, and is central to the study of human language. This handbook brings together the world's leading experts in phonology to present the most comprehensive and detailed overview of the field. Focusing on research and the most influential theories, the authors discuss each of the central issues in phonological theory, explore a variety of empirical phenomena, and show how phonology interacts with other aspects of language such as syntax, morphology, phonetics, and language acquisition. Providing a one-stop guide to every aspect of this important field, The Cambridge Handbook of Phonology will serve as an invaluable source of readings for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, an informative overview for linguists and a useful starting point for anyone beginning phonological research.
The Cambridge Handbook of Phonetics by Rachael-Anne Knight (Editor); Jane Setter (Editor)
ISBN: 1108495737
Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Phonetics - the study and classification of speech sounds - is a major sub-discipline of linguistics. Bringing together a team of internationally renowned phoneticians, this handbook provides comprehensive coverage of the most recent, cutting-edge work in the field, and focuses on the most widely-debated contemporary issues. Chapters are divided into five thematic areas: segmental production, prosodic production, measuring speech, audition and perception, and applications of phonetics. Each chapter presents an historical overview of the area, along with critical issues, current research and advice on the best practice for teaching phonetics to undergraduates. It brings together global perspectives, and includes examples from a wide range of languages, allowing readers to extend their knowledge beyond English. By providing both state-of-the-art research information, and an appreciation of how it can be shared with students, this handbook is essential both for academic phoneticians, and anyone with an interest in this exciting, rapidly developing field.
The Cambridge Handbook of Generative Syntax by Marcel den Dikken (Editor)
ISBN: 9780511804571
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Syntax - the study of sentence structure - has been at the centre of generative linguistics from its inception and has developed rapidly and in various directions. The Cambridge Handbook of Generative Syntax provides a historical context for what is happening in the field of generative syntax today, a survey of the various generative approaches to syntactic structure available in the literature and an overview of the state of the art in the principal modules of the theory and the interfaces with semantics, phonology, information structure and sentence processing, as well as linguistic variation and language acquisition. This indispensable resource for advanced students, professional linguists (generative and non-generative alike) and scholars in related fields of inquiry presents a comprehensive survey of the field of generative syntactic research in all its variety, written by leading experts and providing a proper sense of the range of syntactic theories calling themselves generative.
The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology by Andrew Hippisley (Editor); Gregory T. Stump (Editor)
ISBN: 1107038278
Publication Date: 2016-11-24
The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology describes the diversity of morphological phenomena in the world's languages, surveying the methodologies by which these phenomena are investigated and the theoretical interpretations that have been proposed to explain them. The Handbook provides morphologists with a comprehensive account of the interlocking issues and hypotheses that drive research in morphology; for linguists generally, it presents current thought on the interface of morphology with other grammatical components and on the significance of morphology for understanding language change and the psychology of language; for students of linguistics, it is a guide to the present-day landscape of morphological science and to the advances that have brought it to its current state; and for readers in other fields (psychology, philosophy, computer science, and others), it reveals just how much we know about systematic relations of form to content in a language's words - and how much we have yet to learn.

Beyond the Tri-College Collections

If you are interested in a book not owned by the Tri-College Libraries, you should first turn to E-ZBorrow , which gives you access to book collections at a number of local colleges and universities. It usually takes about three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.

Books not available through E-Z borrow can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan (ILL), and will arrive, once you submit the form, in as little as four to five days.

To get bibliographic information on books not owned by the Tri-College Libraries, you can turn to WorldCat. This is a combined library catalog containing more than 179 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these titles are available to you though interlibrary loan.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.