Find brief scholarly entries/description on topics on Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art, and archaeology. Covers additional topics in Near Eastern studies and Late Antiquity. 5th edition continuously updated.
Provides bibilographies of and encyclopedic articles about topics in the classics. Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.
Includes bibliographical references and subject and keyword indexes for late antiquity and classical periods. Online version of Der neue Pauly--which includes 13 volumes on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition, and one index volume--and Brill's New Pauly. Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Known as LIMC; compiled by an international team in English, French, and German. Use this encyclopedia for finding images of and bibliography on classical mythology.
An online database from the French LIMC team can be found at http://www.limc-france.fr/presentation
Traces the history and cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era. Featuring original contributions by distinguished international scholars, this reference work explores aspecst of the civilized world from literature and law to philosophy and the sciences.
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.
A comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. The board of internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.
Covers all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece and reached its apex in Athens of the 5th century BCE in order to facilitate a better understanding and appreciation of the great surviving works of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, and their contemporaries.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
Covers the history of warfare from ancient times to the present day across the globe. The encyclopedia provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare, from the Punic Wars to the Mongol conquest of China and the War on Terror; from the Ottoman Sultan Suleiman ‘the Magnificent’ to the Soviet Military Commander Georgi Konstantinovich Zhukov; and from the crossbow to chemical warfare.
This work addresses the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present. There are 1360 entries supplying information and suggestions for further reading. Also available in print at BMC.
This is the complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds.
Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.
Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft: neue Bearbeitung
The Virgil Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive reference volume to be published in English on Publius Vergilius Maro, the classical Roman poet whose works and thoughts have been at the center of Western literary, cultural, artistic, and pedagogical traditions for more than two millennia. Through more than 2,200 carefully researched entries, scholars and students alike are provided with an in-depth treatment of all aspects of Virgil’s poetry and his immeasurable influence that continues to the present day.