Research Guides: *Social Work*: Background Research

Top General Social Work Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Social Work
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable resource containing overview articles on key topics from international issues to ethical standards and their implications for social work practice, biographies on key figures, and references and links to related social work resources.

Encyclopedia of Macro Social Work by Darlyne Bailey (Editor); Terry Mizrahi (Editor) The Encyclopedia of Macro Social Work (EOMSW), edited by prominent scholars Terry Mizrahi and Darlyne Bailey, updates and expands upon all of the macro content in the field-defining Encyclopedia of Social Work to create a multi-volume work unlike any other. The EOMSW includes nearly 200 long-form overview articles, written by 334 diverse authors and peer-reviewed by a 13-member editorial board, that address macro practice methods (i.e. organizations, community, and policy), as well as macro theories, concepts, ideologies, problems, and contexts relating to macro social work. All articles typically cover the history and context of a given topic; challenges and opportunities for social workers; future trends and directions; and relevant issues that advance social, racial, environmental, political, and economic justice. The inaugural print edition of the EOMSW is destined to become an essential resource for the field: there is simply no similar work available that takes this sort of wide-ranging, expansive view of all that macro social work encompasses. It is a must-read guide to the field for educators, researchers, students, and practitioners who are located in organizational, community, and/or policy practice settings. Co-published with National Association of Social Workers Press.
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780190949129
Publication Date: 2023

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-volume resource covering the profession of social work, human behavior in the social environment, social work practice, and social policy and policy practice.
The Sage Handbook of Social Work
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an authoritative guide to the theory, method, and values of social work.
Social Workers' Desk Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to social work practice containing responses to social issue changes occurring in society.

Oxford Bibliographies in Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on public health, a field with a mission to assess, develop, and assure the health of a population.
Oxford Handbooks in Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly review articles that provide an in-depth overview of topics in psychology, as well as authoritative guidance, directing you to further related content. A great place to begin your research.

Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents innovative methodologies relevant to community-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research. Also available in print at Bryn Mawr: Canaday (H62 .O95 2014).
The Psychology Research Handbook: A Guide for Graduate Students and Research Assistants
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Great for students seeking to master research methods and procedures in psychology. Chapters in this volume follow the sequential flow of the research process from research planning and design to data collection and analysis to results writing.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with "big and broad data," from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an interdisciplinary approach to everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to an authoritative, comprehensive, and current reference work. Covers all areas of psychology. Articles are signed and contain references and suggested readings. Fully searchable by keyword and browsable by topic.
Psychologists and their Theories for Students
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.

Encyclopedia of Drug Policy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores the controversial drug war through the lens of varied disciplines. A full spectrum of articles explains topics from Colombian cartels and Mexican kingpins to television reportage; from "just say no" advertising to heroin production; and from narco-terrorism to more than $500 billion in U.S. government expenditures.
The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Social Policy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a survey of the American welfare state.
Routledge Handbook of Public Policy
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the policy process including: a) theory - from rational choice to the new institutionalism; 2) frameworks - network theory, advocacy coalition and development models; 3) key stages in the process - formulation, implementation and evaluation; and 4) agenda setting and decision making