Research Guides: *Biology*: Home

Research Best Bets

Tripod Library Catalog
- Use Tripod to find resources available from the TriCo Libraries.
- Search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more
Web of Science
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.
PubMed
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.
Biological Sciences
Offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of materials including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports and patents. Fields covered include biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Covers 1982-present.

AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill
Provides full-text access to articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates and links to related websites in all areas of science and technology. Covers 2000-present.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Over 3000 peer reviewed articles. Subjects include Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Evolution, Genetics & Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology & Virology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, and Structural Biology.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Nature Methods
A forum for the publication of novel methods and significant improvements to tried-and-tested basic research techniques in the life sciences.
Nature Protocols
Journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers. Protocols are presented in a 'recipe' style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures which users can take to the lab and immediately apply in their own research.
Protocols.io
An up-to-date open access repository of science methods and a collaborative protocol-centered platform.