Digitized Archives includes merged items from Bryn Mawr College Special Collections and Visual Resources, Haverford College Quaker and Special Collections, Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College, and the Swarthmore College Peace Collection. Digital Collections includes a variety of images and text-based materials from each college's archives, digitized historical and manuscript collections, and other primary sources.
Publicly available version of Worldcat, a catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
Provides access to "nearly a million collection descriptions" from "thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact [information from] archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies."
The DPLA allows you to search millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the library or other content provider's website.
Serves as a search portal to open access digital collections and resources such as electronic books, online journals, audio files, images, and movies from a wide variety of research, library, and scholarly institutions.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that is building an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes more than 300,000 texts, as well as audio, moving images, software and archived web pages. A good source for books printed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including many travel accounts.