Research Guides: NEUR 398: Senior Thesis Neuroscience (HC) Fall 2025: Explore Topics and Techniques

Why?

As you are exploring experimental techniques and considering topics for your research, it is helpful to start with sources written as introductions to the techniques or topics. Reading these will help you:

Learn basic information and vocabulary about a topic you might not know a lot about yet
Determine the current status of research in your area of interest
Decide if the topic you're thinking about is the right fit for you

See below for some ways to find this type of information.

Use Textbooks

These textbooks may be especially helpful.

Behavioral Neuroscience by S. Marc Breedlove
ISBN: 9780197616857

Publication Date: 2023-02-01

Provides a strong foundation for understanding neural functioning and brain-behavior relations.
Cognitive Neuroscience by Marie T. Banich; Rebecca J. Compton
ISBN: 9781108831147

Publication Date: 2023-10-19

Highlights the most important theoretical, conceptual and methodological issues in cognitive neuroscience.
The Mind's Machine by Neil V. Watson; S. Marc Breedlove
ISBN: 9781605359731

Publication Date: 2020-10-15

Written to present the interdisciplinary topics of introductory behavioral neuroscience to students from non-science majors, to psychology, life sciences, and neuroscience.
Neuroscience by Dale Purves (Editor); George J. Augustine (Editor); David Fitzpatrick (Editor); William C. Hall (Editor); Anthony-Samuel LaMantia (Editor); Richard D. Mooney (Editor); Michael L. Platt (Editor); Leonard E. White (Editor)
ISBN: 9781605353807

Publication Date: 2017-10-12

This textbook provides a balance of animal and human studies to discuss the dynamic field of neuroscience from cellular signaling to cognitive function.

Use Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

Find more reference sources in Tripod by combining your search words with "encyclopedia" or "handbook" or "dictionary".

e.g. neuroscience AND handbook

Use Books

Tripod Library Catalog
- Use Tripod to find resources available from the TriCo Libraries.
- Search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more

Choose "Books + Media" to eliminate journal articles.

Not finding what you need? See below to find books outside the TriCo.

WorldCat
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Use WorldCat to find books in libraries all over the country! If you find a book not owned by the TriCo, you can request to borrow it from another institution using Interlibrary Loan.