Research Guides: CHEM 303: Laboratory in Biochemical Research (HC) Fall 2025: Best Bets for Finding Information

Library Databases

Best Bet: PubMed

PubMed
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.

Find more articles from one great article!

If you have one great article in hand, what can you do to find more articles like it?

Follow citations backward and forward

References (older than the article at hand)

"Citing Sources" or "Cited by" (newer than the article at hand)

Click on "Related" or "Similar" articles (in Google Scholar, PubMed, and other databases)

Follow the author (in databases and/or on social media)

Look at assigned "Subjects" or "Keywords"; use them to find more articles with that same subject.

Additional Resources

ScienceDirect
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Full-text is available only for journals to which the TriColleges subscribe. Full-text access for most journals goes back to 1993. Abstracts are available for non-subscribed journals.
Web of Science
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.
Annual Reviews
A searchable collection of critical review articles capturing the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported, what is controversial, and where further research is needed.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
Provides links to journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.

Note: Google Scholar contains a wealth of journal articles, but the search interface is much less powerful than the library's subscription databases, and it won't effectively find substances and reactions.

ChemRxiv
A free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Gives researchers the opportunity to share early results ahead of formal peer review and publication.