Research Guides: EDUC 014: Pedagogy and Power: An Introduction to Education (SC): Policy Information

Policy Databases

Policy Commons

Database for public policy. Includes millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of thousands of international nonprofits, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. Create free login to use site, but not all documents will be available.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.

U.S. Department of Education - Policy Section
The U.S. Department of Education's policy portal: includes overview of legislation, regulations, guidance, and other policy documents. See also their No Child Left Behind and ESEA portal page.

Institutes and Centers

Annenberg Institute (Brown University)
The Institute strives to equalize and improve educational opportunities. By bringing together diverse thinkers to tackle difficult problems, the Institute advances the broader field: harnessing the power of Brown’s community to develop education leaders, building actionable knowledge through systematic research, partnering with educators and policy-makers for local impact, and encouraging robust civic
The Center of Education Policy (The George Washington University)
The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools. The Center helps Americans better understand the role of public education in a democracy and the need to improve the academic quality of public schools. We do not represent any special interests. Instead, we try to help citizens make sense of the conflicting opinions and perceptions about public education and create the conditions that will lead to better public schools.
Center for the Study of Teaching and Policy (University of Washington)
The Center for the Study of Teaching and Policy investigates efforts to improve the quality of teaching and learning, the teacher workforce, and the systems of support for teachers’ work, in various contexts and at multiple levels of the K-12 educational system. To that end, Center researchers identify ways that policy actions, leadership, and reform efforts guide, direct, and support teaching and learning, thereby informing and enhancing the quality of learning opportunities in U.S. elementary and secondary schools.
Center for Education Policy Research (Harvard University)
The Center for American Progress is an independent nonpartisan policy institute that is dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans, through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action. Our aim is not just to change the conversation, but to change the country.
National Education Policy Center
The mission of the National Education Policy Center is to produce and disseminate high-quality, peer-reviewed research to inform education policy discussions.