Research Guides: Data Literacy (HC): Finding Data

United States data

These resources provide ways to find United States data.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides access through a searchable catalog to U.S. government data. Developed by the Federal CIO Council, Data.gov provides descriptions of the federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S.)
Provides national and regional data in the areas of consumer and producer prices, labor statistics, and income.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED provides 35,000 economic time series from 38 sources. FRED also provides an Excel add-in to access economic data directly from Excel.
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
A product of the Department of Health and Human Services, HRSA is a portal to governmental data on various health-related topics.
MedlinePlus - Health Statistics
This site provides access to web sites that contain compiled health statistics, often on a topic or by an audience.

Social Explorer
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-Present)

These resources provide ways to find global data.

World Bank Data Catalog
In addition to World Development Indicators, the World Bank provides access to a large number of datasets.
International Statistical Agencies
U.S. Census Bureau's list of official statistical agencies in other countries.
WHO - Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
Provides access to an archive of online social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis. Provides a comprehensive list of ICPSR resources and services, information on membership and governance, links to national data archives affiliated with ICPSR, and contact information.

Registry of Research Data Repositories: re3data.org
A global registry covering different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
SocioSite: Social Science Data Archives
An inventory of statistics and data from around the world