Women of the Pulps (Past Exhibit Guide)

ARTICLES

Women and the pulps by Micheal R. Brown. Article from The Pulp.Net, Pulp Super-Fan, 2021.

The queen and her court : leading women pulp editors by Laurie Powers and Mike Chomko. Article for PulpFest 2021.

The future Is female! Science fiction stories by women, from pulp pioneers to Ursula K. Le Guin. Biography supplement to the Library of America 2018 Publication. (Book available to check out from McCabe)

The lesbian pulp fiction that saved lives by Natasha Frost. Article from Atlas Obscura, 2018.

Looking past the scandalous covers of lesbian pulp novels by Emma Cieslik. Article from National Museum of American History, 2024.

WEBSITES / COLLECTIONS

Daisy Bacon Papers at James Madison University: The Daisy Bacon Papers comprise the personal and professional papers, diaries, scrapbooks, printed ephemera, published and unpublished manuscripts, and photographs of Daisy Bacon, longtime editor of Love Story Magazine. 

Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies (University of Minnesota): The Tretter Collection holds approximately 3,500 linear feet of material—including books, periodicals, personal and organizational records, zines and pamphlets, artifacts and ephemera, and audiovisual materials. The Collection also contains a large and wide-ranging book collection dating back to the 19th century––including rare books and popular titles; fiction, non-fiction, science fiction, poetry, pulps, erotica, art books, and more.

PulpFest Convention: Every year in Pittsburgh, PulpFest celebrates mystery, adventure, science fiction, romance, and other forms of genre fiction. The convention website also hosts a number of articles published in the annual magazine, The Pulpster.

Pulp Magazines Project: A joint effort of the University of Pittsburgh and Andrew Mellon Foundation, The Pulp Magazines Project is “an open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study and preservation of one of the twentieth century's most influential print culture forms: the all-fiction pulpwood magazine.”

Pulp.Net: Serving as a community resource, The Pulp.Net provides conference news, reviews, and blog posts regarding all aspects of pulp and genre fiction.

Pulp Science Fiction and Detective Fiction Periodical Collection (NYU Fales Library): The Pulp Science Fiction and Detective Fiction Periodical Collection comprises pulp science fiction and mystery serials from the 1940s to the 1980s with a concentration in the 1940s. Fales also possessed a Gay and Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection that contains over 1000 volumes of gay and lesbian erotica published in pulp magazines between 1955 and 1988.

FICTION

• Bannon, Ann, and Lily Tomlin. The Beebo Brinker Omnibus : Ann Bannon’s Pulp Classics. San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2015. (Online)
• Bannon, Ann. Odd Girl Out. Mansfield Centre, CT: Martino Publishing, 2016.
• Brackett, Leigh. The Best of Leigh Brackett. 1st ed. New York: Ballantine Books, 1977. (Request from Bryn Mawr)
• Carey, Christopher Paul et al. Jane Porter and the City of Fire. Mass market edition. Tarzana, California: ERB Inc., 2023.
• Earle, David M et al. Where All Good Flappers Go : Essential Stories of the Jazz Age. Featuring 'The Chicago Kid' by Gertrude Schalk. First ed. London: Steerforth Press, 2023. (Online and Paperback versions available)
• Highsmith, Patricia, (Claire Morgan). The Price of Salt. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
• Moore, C. L. (Catherine Lucile). Jirel of Joiry. London: Gollancz, 2019.
• Sargent, Pamela, ed. Women of Wonder, the Classic Years : Science Fiction by Women from the 1940s to the 1970s. First ed. San Diego: Harcourt Brace & Co., 1995.
• St. Clair, Margaret, and Martin Harry Greenberg. The Best of Margaret St. Clair. Chicago, Ill: Academy Chicago Publishers, 1985.
• Torrès, Tereska, and Joan Schenkar. Women’s Barracks. First Feminist Press ed. New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2005.

• Yaszek, Lisa, ed. The Future Is Female! : 25 Classic Science Fiction Stories by Women, from Pulp Pioneers to Ursula K. Le Guin. New York, NY: Library of America, 2018.

NON-FICTION

• Davin, Eric Leif. Partners in Wonder : Women and the Birth of Science Fiction, 1926-1965. Lanham, Maryland: Lexington Books, 2006. (Online)
• Drew, Bernard A. (Bernard Alger). Hard-Boiled Dames : Stories Featuring Women Detectives, Reporters, Adventurers, and Criminals from the Pulp Fiction Magazines of the 1930s. First ed. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1986. (Request from Bryn Mawr)
• Ellis, Grace, and Hannah Templer. Flung out of Space : The Indecent Adventures of Patricia Highsmith. New York, NY: Abrams ComicArts Surely, 2022. (Online and Hardcover versions available)
• Everett, Justin, and Jeffrey H. Shanks, eds. The Unique Legacy of Weird Tales : The Evolution of Modern Fantasy and Horror. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015. (Online and Hardcover versions available)
• Hefner, Brooks E. Black Pulp : Genre Fiction in the Shadow of Jim Crow. Minneapolis, Minnesota: University of Minnesota Press, 2021. (Online and Hardcover versions available)
• Korshak, Stephen D, and J. David Spurlock. The Alluring Art of Margaret Brundage, Queen of Pulp Pin-up Art. Coral Gables, FL: Vanguard Publishing, 2013. (Request from Haverford)
• Kröger, Lisa, and Melanie Anderson. Monster, She Wrote : The Women Who Pioneered Horror & Speculative Fiction. Philadelphia: Quirk Books, 2019. (Request from Bryn Mawr)
• Powers, Laurie. Queen of the Pulps : The Reign of Daisy Bacon and Love Story Magazine. Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers, 2019. (Online)
• Rabinowitz, Paula. American Pulp : How Paperbacks Brought Modernism to Main Street. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2014.
• Zimet, Jaye. Strange Sisters : The Art of Lesbian Pulp Fiction, 1949-1969. New York, N.Y: Viking Studio, 1999.