ARCH 204 Animals in Ancient Greece (BMC)

Oxford Handbooks Online in Archaeology seek to combine works of original scholarship with authoritative overviews of particular subjects. The resource provides coverage of all the major geographical areas of the world, countering any tendency towards Euro-American bias, as well as specific topic areas of current and lasting interest, combining also theoretical discussion with empirical content.

Brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.

Provides bibilographies of and encyclopedic articles about over 50 topics in the classics. Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

A reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance--from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.

Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.

Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.

Includes bibliographical references and subject and keyword indexes for late antiquity and classical periods. Online version of Der neue Pauly--which includes 13 volumes on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition, and one index volume--and Brill's New Pauly. Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.

Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).