Compass journals, each specializing in a different disciplinary area, feature articles written in the form of literature reviews. Specialists analyze the issues involved in a particular question and discuss individual books, journal articles, and other scholarship that are essential for research in that area.
Most relevant Compass articles for this course will be in History Compass, though there are reviews in Geography Compass, Religion Compass, and others which may relevant, depending on your topic. Browse or search the journal website for overviews related to your research topic.The bibliographies accompanying articles in History Compass will lead you to relevant sources for further reading.
If you don't find a relevant literature review in one of the Compass journals that seems relevant to your topic, check for titles in Oxford Bibliographies and Dissertations and Theses as well (see the sections below). Most doctoral students will write a chapter of their dissertation in which they survey the available scholarship and primary sources on their topic.
History Compass 
Geography Compass
Religion Compass
Sociology Compass
The following are example articles from Compass journals that may be relevant for your research.
The Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) lay out the parameters of various issues within a particular field of study and evaluate the importance of individual books and journal articles in the form of an annotated bibliography. It gives you the benefit of expert advice when choosing what to read.
Note that OBO is comprised of a number of more subject-specific bibliography databases. While the general OBO link above allows you to search all of them, it may be useful to browse or search some in particular. These include (but are not limited to):
These are some specific examples of Oxford Bibliographies which may be useful for your research topics.
Doctoral students conduct a comprehensive study of the relevant literature when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received little attention from scholars before. You can sometimes obtain these dissertations and benefit from all the bibliographic treasues and new ideas. Check Dissertations & Theses to identify dissertations on your topic.
