Research Guides: Israel and Palestine: Resources (HC): Background

Resources and feedback

Below is a select list, though it is by no means exhaustive. If you would like to help us add to the guide and/or to the collections, please suggest items on this form: Feedback form for guide and collections

Recent Reports from Research Groups

Background

Israel & Gaza: A Syllabus of Background Readings
List of resources compiled by JSTOR on background information
Israel Gaza Crisis (United Nations)
This website includes breaking news, U.N. statements, reports on humanitarian aid and ways in which people can help.
Doctrine of Hamas
Historical context on the Hamas Covenant of 1988 and Principles and Policies of 2017 by the Wilson Center, a nonpartisan think tank.
United Nations Security Council discussion and statement on Israeli settlement expansions, February 2023
Council members feared the impact on the viability of a two-state solution.
Political Handbook of the World, 2022-2023
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This authoritative reference book provides detailed information on major aspects of Israel and the Palestinian Authority's government and politics. The handbook is updated every two years.
CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text reports on world issues. See, for example, The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict (2018).
The Middle East 1916-2003 : A Documentary Record
Treaties, U. N. resolutions, peace plans, and statements. Part of Yale Law School's Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Commentary and annotated bibliographies by top scholars detailing key sources on a range of topics in pertinent fields. Check the items in the "Related Titles" box for additional information related to your interests. This series is under development and adds additional essays twice a year.
Entries include:
The Arab-Israeli Conflict (from the Political Science section)
The Contemporary Middle East (from the International Relations section)
Jerusalem (from the International Law section)
Palestine (and the Israel Question) (from the International Law section)
The UN Partition Plan for Palestine and International Law (from the International Law section)
Routledge Handbook on the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of history and context surrounding the conflict, available in print. Published 2013.
Human Rights Watch
This NGO is known for its extensive coverage of issues and its effective advocacy. Haverford College has subscribed to its published reports for many years. You can find older reports in the Tripod catalog and newer ones on the HRW website. See the tabs for Countries, Topics and Reports. The World Report 2023 surveys conditions in more than 70 countries and territories.
Amnesty International
Long running advocacy and research organization founded in the U. K. See also its U. S. branch.
Freedom House
Freedom House is a non-profit organization best known for political advocacy related to issues of democracy, political freedom, and human rights.