Research Guides: HIST240: History & Principles of Quakerism (HC) Fall 2023: Bibliographic Essay Assignment

Getting Started:

"A bibliographic essay identifies and evaluates the core literature of a field of study. Like an annotated bibliography, it describes and analyses the sources, which can include books, book chapters, periodical articles, Web sites, etc. In addition, it compares, contrasts, and evaluates the sources in relation to one another (Dr. Judith Freidenberg)" The Art of the Bibliographic Essay

Why Use Journal Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are important sources of information offering:

Originality. Provides new evidence and interpretations.
Authoritativeness. Written by researchers for their peers.
Documentation. Cites key scholarship in footnotes that you can check.
Reliability. Reviewed by editors for significance and accuracy.
Conciseness. Presents an argument directly since length is often limited to 40 pages or less.
Engagement. Responds to issues and adds to an ongoing dialog.
Currency. Treats recent issues more quickly than books due to publishing schedules

Journal Indexes

The databases below allow you to search for journal articles by subject. When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as in JSTOR and Proquest), use the Find It button to check for Haverford's holdings.

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles on United States and Canadian history. (For articles on non-US history topics, search the Historical Abstracts database instead.)

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Indexes journal articles, essays and books dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can specify ranges of time in your search.

American Periodicals Series Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research tool for identifying articles in 300+ radical and left journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes US and global publications, in English and other languages.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.

Recommended Journals for Quaker Studies

Some scholarly journals devote all or many of their pages to Quaker-related research. You can see the latest scholarship by browsing the journal titles below. The journal websites also offer searches of the full-text articles, so that you can find material about people, ideas and other topics of interest.

Quaker Studies: an Overview by C. Wess Daniels; Robynne Rogers Healey; Jon R. Kershner
ISBN: 9789004365063
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
In this introductory volume to the Brill Research Perspectives series on Quaker Studies, Quaker Studies, An Overview: The Current State of the Field, C. Wess Daniels, Robynne Rogers Healey, and Jon Kershner investigate Quaker Studies, divided into the three fields of history, theology and philosophy, and sociology. With a focus on schisms, transatlantic networks, colonialism, abolition, gender and equality, and pacifism from Quaker origins onward, Healey explores the rich diversity and complexity of research and interpretation that has emerged in Quaker history. Kershner explores comparisons and divergences in contemporary Quaker theology and philosophy. Special attention is paid to Quaker biblical hermeneutics, mysticism, ethics, epistemology and Global Quakerism. Daniels looks at the sociology of Quakerism as a new field of study that has only recently begun to be explored and developed. He surveys the field of sociological work done within Quakerism from the 1960s to the present day.
William and Mary quarterly (Online) by College of William & Mary
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1944-
Peer-reviewed journal of record in the field of early American history, publishing articles on North America and the Atlantic world through 1820.
The Journal of the Friends' Historical Society by Friends' Historical Society
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1903 - present
Issues from 1903-2016 are available on the journal's website.
Quaker History by Friends HIstorical Association
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1902 - present
This scholarly journal publishes articles on the history of the Society of Friends from its origins through the present day. It also includes book reviews in each issue.
Pennsylvania magazine of history and biography (Online) by Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1877-
Peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles and book reviews concerned with Pennsylvania history. Quakers played and continue to play an important role in the region.

More Resources

See the Quaker Studies subject guide for further resources:

*Quaker Studies*
by Mary Crauderueff Last Updated Sep 20, 2023 147 views this year

Selected Websites

American Friends Service Committee
Formed during World War I to promote peace. AFSC works throughout the globe to bring justice.
Friends World Committee for Consultation
"...FWCC brings Friends of varying traditions and cultural experiences together in worship, communications, and consultation, to express our common heritage and our Quaker message to the world."
In Her Own Right - Women Activists, 1820-1920
This collection contains digitized items from the Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College, Swarthmore College Peace Collection, Bryn Mawr College Special Collections, and Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections that illuminate women's efforts to assert their rights and work for the rights of others in a variety of spheres in the century leading up to the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment.
Learning Resources
From the Woodbrooke study center im Birmingham, England.
Monthly Meetings in North America
This site attempts to record basic historical information about every monthly meeting of the Religious Society of Friends that has existed in North America.
Native Americans and Quakers, 1791-1815 (Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College)
Quaker records document extensive interaction between members of the Society of Friends and Native Americans. This collection includes journals, correspondence, committee minutes, and other miscellaneous original documents dated from 1791 until 1815.
Quaker Broadsides Collection
Searchable digital collection of over 800 broadsides from the collections of Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College and the Haverford College Quaker Collection. It includes works from 1657 to the present.
Quakers in Britain
Descriptions of Quaker activities in Britain.
Quakers in the World
Website's stated purpose: "Quakers have a long tradition of being active in, and seeking to make a difference to, the world in which they find themselves. In their actions they seek to put Quaker testimonies such as equality, peace and integrity into practice, as best they can. This website aims to bring together the many different ways in which they have done this, all over the world."
Religious Society of Friends
Offers an extensive list of links covering many Quaker-related topics.

HIST240: History & Principles of Quakerism (HC) Fall 2023

Getting Started:

Why Use Journal Articles?

Originality. Provides new evidence and interpretations.

Authoritativeness. Written by researchers for their peers.

Documentation. Cites key scholarship in footnotes that you can check.

Reliability. Reviewed by editors for significance and accuracy.

Conciseness. Presents an argument directly since length is often limited to 40 pages or less.

Engagement. Responds to issues and adds to an ongoing dialog.

Currency. Treats recent issues more quickly than books due to publishing schedules

Journal Indexes

Recommended Journals for Quaker Studies

More Resources

Selected Websites