Research Guides: HIST/EALC 296: China and Africa: Historical Encounters and Contemporary Legacies (HC): Background Information

Background Information- Countries and Regions

The following sources provide overviews of Chinese and African history. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and recent scholarly interpretations.

When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

ALA Guide to Researching Modern China
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features advice on finding different kinds of material as well as strategies for researching topics including history, the arts, social sciences and gender studies.
Cambridge Economic History of China Vol. 2 1800 to the Present
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Charts the wrenching process of an ancient empire being transformed to re-emerge as a major world power. This volume brings together the fruits of pioneering international scholarship in all dimensions of economic history to provide an authoritative and comprehensive overview of this tumultuous and dramatic transformation.
Cambridge history of China
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multiple-volume history provides detailed analyses of pertinent social, political, and economic issues. The People's Republic parts 1 and 2 will be most relevant.
Chinese History: A New Manual
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features informed introductory essays, side bars and tables, and comments for nearly every title cited, those written in Chinese and other languages as well as English. See the Subject Listings for pages referring to specific topics.
A Companion to Chinese History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the latest intellectual developments in the study of China's history with scholarship by top historians from both China and around the globe. The title is also available in Tripod as an e-book.
Oxford Encyclopedia of African Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In over 100 peer-reviewed entries, readers will find authoritative overviews of the key methodologies and approaches, as well as all of the major topics in African politics, one of the fastest growing and most dynamic areas of political science. Articles of interest include "China’s Economic Impact on Africa" and "China and Political Governance in Africa."
Oxford Handbook of Modern African History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This handbook offers 26 thematic essays on African social, cultural, and political history written by leading scholars. Note in particular the essays on work and migration and African nationalism and decolonization. Published in 2013.
Routledge Handbook of Africa-Asia Relations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Twenty-nine essays address early contacts, twentieth century interactions and contemporary relations.

History Compass

This journal is devoted to the study of history. All of the articles are written in the form of literature reviews. Specialists analyze the issues involved in a particular question and discuss individual books, journal articles, and other scholarship that are essential for research in that area. Browse or search the journal website for overviews related to your research topic. The bibliographies accompanying articles in History Compass will lead you to relevant sources for further reading.

If you don't find a relevant literature review in Compass journals, check for titles in Oxford Bibliographies (see below).

History Compass

Examples include:

"The Dragon Has Not Just Arrived: The Historical Study of Africa’s Relations with China" by Jessica Achberger (2010)

Geography Compass

Examples include:

"China and Africa: Emerging Challenges to the Geographies of Power" by Emma Mawdsley (2007)

Oxford Bibliographies Online

The Oxford Bibliographies Online lay out the parameters of various issues within a particular field of study and evaluate the importance of individual books and journal articles in the form of an annotated bibliography. It gives you the benefit of expert advice when choosing what to read.

See examples of essays below from Oxford Bibliographies Online

China in Africa by Meine Pieter van Dijk, African Studies section

China and Africa by May Tan-Mullins, Chinese Studies section

Africa in the Cold War - Subsection People's Republic of China by Piero Gleijeses, African Studies section

Africa’s International Investment Law Regimes by Won Kidane

China’s Foreign Policy by Zhiqun Zhu, International Relations section

China and the World, 1900-1949 by Dong Wang, Chinese Studies section