Research Guides: HIST 333: History and Fiction (HC): Historic Magazines and Newspapers

Major 19th C. Magazine and Pamphlet Collections

Accessible Archives
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text primary resource materials in American history including newspapers, magazines, and genealogical records originally only offered on microfilm. Covers 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
American Broadsides & Ephemera: Series I
- This link opens in a new window
Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (1820-1900) and 15,000 pieces of ephemera (1760 -1900) from the American Antiquarian Society collection. Subjects range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Material types include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
American Periodicals Series Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to newspaper pages from 1900 to 1910 and abstracts about American newspapers published between 1690 to the present.
Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship (NINES) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a peer-reviewed collection of digital projects on the the long 19th-century (1770-1920), British and American. Useful for identifying primary sources.
Eight Centuries
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over seventy seminal as well as lesser known contemporary indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Access is by genre: 1. Multi-title Periodical Indexes (e.g., Poole's, Legal, Religion, Scientific Papers, etc.); 2. Book Indexes; 3. Newspaper Indexes; 4. Complete Individual Periodical Indexes (e.g., Harper's, Atlantic Monthly,etc.); 5. US Patents; Hansard's; US and UK Historical Government Documents

Historic Newspapers

Newspapers shed light on events, public opinion, and social mores. Some titles are available through Tripod including:
New York Times Use the link for Proquest Historical Newspapers to have the best search options

This link opens in a new window

America's Historical Newspapers link opens in a new wind

For a fuller list of titles in Tripod, see the page Historical Sources on the News Sources research guide.

The London Times often serves as a newspaper of record for historical events:
Times Digital Archive (London)

This guide United States: Historical Newspapers from Utica College provides State by State lists of available online newspaper collections.

For newspapers not in Tripod, use WorldCat as your guide.

Search in WorldCat by subject as well as title: chinese newspapers Limited to Years 1880-1920
Look for the icon Microfilm. You will be able to borrow specific years on interlibrary loan.