Ling H295 Syntax II: Zapotec Syntax (HC) : Grammars & Dictionaries

San Lucas Quiavin Zapotec, an endangered and little-examined indigenous language of Mexico, shows a range of syntactic and morphological phenomena incompatible with standard Minimalist accounts of verb movement. This work proposes a VP-remnant raising account for these phenomena, motivated by Kayne's (1992) antisymmetry program. The book also examines the consequences of phrasal remnant movement for negation constructions, and the interpretation of tense, aspect, and mood.

A careful syntactic analysis of Quiegolani Zapotec Syntax, presented descriptively and with a theoretical analysis.

Provides a grammatical description of San Bartolome Zoogocho Zapotec, an endangered Otomanguean language spoken in the southern Mexican state of Oaxaca. The initial six chapters are concerned with providing a description of the major grammatical features of the language, while the final two examine two major current theoretical issues: parts-of-speech and word order.

This is the first dictionary of Isthmus Zapotec to be published in English. In addition to over 5,000 entries -- with etymological notes given when entry words derive from Spanish -- the dictionary contains detailed yet concise sections covering spelling and pronunciation, as well as the major points of Isthmus Zapotec grammar.

v. 1. Zapotec-English-Spanish dictionary -- v. 2, pt. 1. English-Zapotec index. Pt. 2. Spanish-Zapotec index.

Gives a grammatical sketch of Zapotec (Mitla Vallay, Oaxaca, Mexico).

Presents a small sampling of the oral literature of the Zapotec people (Mexico) in Spanish and English.El Folklore de San Lorenzo.

This Handbook represents the development of research and the current level of knowledge in the fields of syntactic theory and syntax analysis.

This Handbook represents the development of research and the current level of knowledge in the fields of syntactic theory and syntax analysis.

This Handbook represents the development of research and the current level of knowledge in the fields of syntactic theory and syntax analysis.

A unique collection of 70 newly-commissioned case studies, offering access to research completed over the last 40 years. Brings together the world's leading syntacticians to provide a large and diverse number of case studies in the field. Explores a comprehensive range of syntax topics from an historical perspective. Investigates empirical domains which have been well-documented and which have played a prominent role in theoretical syntax at some stage in the development of generative grammar. Serves as a research tool for not only theoretical linguistics but also the various forms of applied linguistics.