Research Guides: HART 399: Senior Seminar (BMC): Finding Books and Articles

Library Catalogs

Tripod Library Catalog
- Use Tripod to find resources available from the TriCo Libraries.
- Search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more

WorldCat
Enormous catalog of the holdings of libraries in the US and around the world. Great way to check citations and find books that aren't in the Trico or EZ-Borrow
Borrowing Beyond the Trico
Use EZ-Borrow first for quick turnaround. Then turn to Interlibrary Loan.

General resources with great art historical coverage

JSTOR
Remember that JSTOR doesn't include the most recent issues of journals: turn to databases like Art Full Text for more recent articles.

Google Books
Use this to search the full text of recent scholarly books. Great way to find relevant books. Turn to Tripod to see if we have the book.
Internet Archive
Open access to books, films, videos, television, archival materials
Europeana
Portal to collections of digitized material from European libraries and archives

Periodicals Index Online
Index (and some full text) to journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, from the 17th century to 1990s. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.

Film and Media Studies

Use the recommendations on the Film and Media Studies guide. (Art historical databases also include a lot of film/media studies content too).

Indexes and Full-text Resources (Art History)

Art Full Text
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA)
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). Abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers material published between 1975-2007. Use International Bibliography of Art for coverage of publications after 2007.
International Bibliography of Art
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. International coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of articles, books, exhibition catalogs and reviews of modern and contemporary art, including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Subject coverage from the 19th century on. Some indexing of publications back to 1960s; full text often available for publications since ca. 2000.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
International index covering all areas of design and craft. Includes data on over 40,000 designers, studios, workshops, firms etc. Also included are 4 supplementary directories on education, organizations, archives and periodicals.
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.

Auction catalogs

The TriCo libraries do not collect auction catalogs, but the Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) has nearly 300,000 auction catalogs.

Search the PMA collections here.

Tip: don't use the keywords "auction catalog," "auctions," etc. Search for the subject or a specific title, and then you can Refine Results (on the right) and choose only auction catalogs.

Contact library@philamuseum.org for information on using PMA collections.