A Dictionary of Economics (Oxford, 2017)
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics 
The Cambridge Handbook of Technological Disruption in Labour and Employment Law by
Whether through gig work, remote work, or platforms such as Uber, new technologies are reshaping the very fabric of employment relations. This handbook offers a comprehensive, international overview of how institutions, countries, and legal systems are responding to the technological disruption of the work world. Chapters outline the reform agendas driven by the International Labour Organization and the European Union and detail the public policy debates, litigation, and legal reforms that technological innovation has triggered around the world. This volume provides a post-pandemic assessment of how digitalization is affecting employment and employment relations and contextualizes current technological disruption with a long-term view of how labour and employment law could evolve further.
The Cambridge Handbook of U. S. Labor Law for the Twenty-First Century by
Over the last fifty years in the United States, unions have been in deep decline, while income and wealth inequality have grown. In this timely work, editors Richard Bales and Charlotte Garden - with a roster of thirty-five leading labor scholars - analyze these trends and show how they are linked. Designed to appeal to those being introduced to the field as well as experts seeking new insights, this book demonstrates how federal labor law is failing today's workers and disempowering unions; how union jobs pay better than nonunion jobs and help to increase the wages of even nonunion workers; and how, when union jobs vanish, the wage premium also vanishes. At the same time, the book offers a range of solutions, from the radical, such as a complete overhaul of federal labor law, to the incremental, including reforms that could be undertaken by federal agencies on their own.
In Search of the Global Labor Market by
This volume addresses pertinent questions related to cross-border labor migration and puts forward a "labor market" perspective that goes beyond the national frame of reference prevailing in most of the extant labor market scholarship. In four sections, the volume pulls together a number of key threads: How can we theoretically grasp "global labor markets?" What does existing empirical research reveal about the current state of affairs and the historical development of "global labor markets", provided that they can even be regarded as "global?" How is the emergence of border-crossing labor markets influenced by existing institutions, international intermediaries and social networks? The editors have crafted a coherent volume that enriches our understanding of both globalization and labor markets. Contributors include: Patrik Aspers, Peter-Paul Bänziger, Martin Bühler, Rebecca Gumbrell-McCormick, Richard Hyman, Sven Kesselring, Eleonore Kofman, Ursula Mense-Petermann, Sigrid Quack, Alexandra Scheele, Helen Schwenken, Karen Shire, Marcel van der Linden, Thomas Welskopp, Tobias Werron, and Anna Zaharieva.
Mothers in the Labor Market by
This book describes the social and economic issues that emerge from mothers in labor markets. It provides insight in what the quantitative effect of motherhood on the decline in mothers' earnings is, and how things differ for mothers with lower income and lower levels of education. It also sheds light on how this effect varies for different countries and/or cultural areas, and what the impact of socio-economic policies on mothers' labor supply is and how it changes in different family contexts. The book covers topics such as labor participation and hours of work, paid-work and home production, flexibility and work from home, self-employment and entrepreneurship, fertility and maternity leave, wage-penalty and career interruption, labor supply and childcare, gender norms and cultural issues, intra-household wage inequality and much more. This book provides an interesting read to economists, social scientists, policy makers and HR managers and all those interested in the subject.
The Palgrave Handbook of Environmental Labour Studies by
In this comprehensive Handbook, scholars from across the globe explore the relationships between workers and nature in the context of the environmental crises. They provide an invaluable overview of a fast-growing research field that bridges the social and natural sciences. Chapters provide detailed perspectives of environmental labour studies, environmental struggles of workers, indigenous peoples, farmers and commoners in the Global South and North. The relations within and between organisations that hinder or promote environmental strategies are analysed, including the relations between workers and environmental organisations, NGOs, feminist and community movements.
