Research Guides: HIST 274: History of the Andes (HC): Background Information

Survival of Incan Culture

Marriage of Martin de Loyola to Princess Dona Beatriz (1556-1600), daughter of the Incan leader Sayri Túpac 1718,

Museo Pedro de Osma, Peru (Source: Wikimedia Commons, Public domain). Loyola captured and killed Beatriz's uncle

and was then rewarded by the Spanish authorities with the marriage. See further details.

Background Information

The following sources provide overviews of ideas, people's lives, social movements and more in the history of Andean countries. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate.

When using an article in an handbook or literature review, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

History Compass
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers interpretive essays highlighting recent scholarship. Titles of interest among the literature reviews include:
"Conversion of Indigenous People in the Peruvian Andes: Politics and Historical Understanding" 2016
"Indigenous People and Legal Culture in Spanish America" 2013
"A Historiography of Populism and Neopopulism in Latin America" 2020
"Re-visiting Histories of Modernization, Progress, and (Unequal) Citizenship Rights: Coerced Sterilization in Peru and in the United States" 2010
See also in Sociology Compass
"States, Elites, and Inequality in Latin America" 2018

Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of literature review articles in the social and natural sciences. Look for areas covering politics, law, economics and anthropology. Articles of interest include:
"Indigenous Peoples' Politics in Latin America" (Annual Review of Political Science, 2010)
"Latin America, a Continent in Movement but Where To? A Review of Social Movements' Studies in the Region" (Annual Review of Political Science, 2018)
"Psychology and Indigenous People" (Annual Review of Psychology, 2022)

Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies on specific topics in different subject areas (including Latin American Studies and Political Science) written by scholars in the field. New entries are added twice a year. Essays of interest now available include:
"African-Descent Women in Colonial Latin America" In Latin American Studies section.
"Andean Contributions to Rethinking the State and the Nation" In Latin American Studies section.
"Andean Social Movements (Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru)" In Latin American Studies section.
"Contemporary Indigenous Social and Political Thought" In Latin American Studies section.
"Gender and History in the Andes" In Latin American Studies section.
"Indigenous Politics and Representation in Latin America" In the Political Science section.
"Latino Indigenismo in a Comparative Perspective" In Latino Studies section.
"Preconquest Incas" In Latin American Studies section.
"Shining Path " In the International Relations section.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

Handbooks and Histories

Cambridge History of Latin America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose the relevant time period from this eleven-volume history which explores issues including social history, politics and economics. Published 1984-2008.
Companion to Latin American History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collects the work of leading experts in the field to create a multi-topic overview of the diverse history and current trends in the study of Latin America.
Handbook of Social Movements across Latin America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This handbook covers social movement activities in Latin American countries that have had profound consequences on the political culture of the region. Published 2015.
Handbook of South American Governance
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The editors bring together experts to explore what demands and dilemmas have shaped governance in South America. The essays suggest that governance dilemmas of inequitable and unfulfilled political economic governance have been constant historical features, yet addressed and negotiated in different ways. Published in 2018.
Oxford Handbook of the Incas
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents essays about the origins, evolution and aftermath of the Incan empire. Published 2018.
Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Latin America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays of interest include: "Inequality, Social Mobility, and Racism in Bolivia" and "Indigenous Movements in Latin America: Tensions, Contradictions, Possibilities." Published 2021.
Political Handbook of the World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of comprehensive country profiles containing detailed information on each nation's political history, government, leadership structure, elections, and political party system. Updated every two years.
Routledge Hispanic Studies Companion to Colonial Latin America and the Caribbean (1492-1898)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Relevant essays include: "It comes with the territory: indigenous materialities and western knowledge" and "The (dis)continuities of decolonized gender and sexual identity in the Andes." Published 2021.